Squirrels!…

Wow time sure does slip by! It has been quite awhile since I last put up a post.

“All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in the rain” — Bladerunner

Lately, I’ve been trying to wrap my head around some poems* (provided by my instructor) and trying to photograph visual representations of them. I prefer to go for the feelings evoked rather than trying to recreate the actual images (like in cinema). Not an easy task. And for awhile there I had photographer’s block, if you will. Then last week all the poems that have been bouncing around in my head started to become ideas. I’ll show my photographs to my class tomorrow, we’ll see how it goes.

In the meantime, I have some photos that I’d like to show you from a recent family visit (we showed them our favorite spots around town). First up, squirrels! Squirrels aren’t as prevalent around here as they were in DC. I have to go to specific places and seek them out here. On the bright side, the squirrels are used to people, so perhaps much easier to photograph. 🙂 Enjoy.

squirrel

squirrel

squirrel

Until next time…
~nic

*If you are curious about the poems we’ve been talking about so far in my class, here’s a list:

Eating Alone – Li-Young Lee
Eating Together – Li-Young Lee
This Room and Everything in It – Li-Young Lee

The Pomegranate – Eavan Boland

☀ Underneath (2) – Jorie Graham [ghosts not having lived… ] (could not find a link)

Selections from Leaves of Grass – Walt Whitman

The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock – T.S. Eliot

Because I could not Stop for Death – Emily Dickinson
I Died For Beauty – Emily Dickinson

Leave a Reply

