Flu Recovery…

Kale salad (kale, carrots, red cabbage, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, goddess dressing)

I’ve spent the last few days getting extra sleep and blowing my nose a lot. Yep, I have the flu. I’m on the mend though, in fact, this morning I could actually breath through my nose! Wahoo! My voice still sounds funny though. 😛

Before the overwhelming need to get some rest, I was talking about a new idea I had… a new improved 5-a-day idea. I want to see if I can get 5 different fruits and 5 different vegetables a day, every day. And I took more photos.

Dreamcicle Smoothie (frozen banana, seedless orange, soy milk)

Dreamcicle Smoothie (frozen banana, seedless orange, soy milk)

I’d love to say that “I had more energy, I was skipping around and doing the jig!” Maybe I would have been had I not been down for the count with the flu. I do think I recovered faster because of the extra fruits and vegetables. The last time I had the flu I was down for the count for 2 weeks… this time around, just the weekend. I didn’t do scientific studies, but I do feel better. And that’s all that matters to me.

Other things I’ve noticed… I’m making better choices and I feel less restricted.

Maybe you do this too… If I am not happy with the number on the scale – I tell myself to start counting calories and exercise more. Then, I start to feel overwhelmed with what I can and can’t have. I have feelings of hunger, but the calorie calculations tell me I *can’t* have anything else. I get cranky, and then I find myself overeating at the next meal…. seriously, no.one.is.happy.

But this 5-a-day thing has nothing to do with my scale.

This is something I *want* to do.

And I’m enjoying it.

And I’m making better choices, which may or not affect the scale.

Case in point, normally I would want all 6 frozen waffles1 in the box. If I was sharing the box, I’d get 3… If I was thinking about my weight, I’d get 2 1/2 and be looking longingly at my taste-tester’s plate. Instead, I focused on the fact that I was getting in 3 different kinds of fruit.

And oh, hey, look at that… I only had 2 waffles… and I was satiated. I didn’t need more. Maybe it is all psychological… I wasn’t focusing on the waffles *I couldn’t have*, I was thinking about those beautiful berries! Those 6 waffles, and the three boxes of berries, lasted me 3 fulfilling breakfasts.

waffles with strawberries, raspberries, blackberries, and maple syrup

waffles with strawberries, raspberries, blackberries, and maple syrup

I also found myself choosing fruit for dessert. Sure I still had popcorn and part of a chocolate bar one night, but I also enjoyed an orange a different night. Last night I enjoyed an apple with raisins and almond butter.

I realize this isn’t ground breaking news. I am a vegan after all… I eat fruit and vegetables all the time, right?

Well, let me tell you that it is super easy to be a junkatarian… you know what I’m talking about… it doesn’t have meat in it, and it doesn’t have animal by-products in it… but that doesn’t mean it’s healthy. I’ve been guilty of a few too many processed foods lately. So for me, this is a refreshing reminder that I feel better when I eat more fresh food and more variety of fruits and vegetables.

And it’s a great excuse to play around with natural light and reflectors and take photos of food, then eat said food. 🙂

If you’ve made some 5-a-day changes… how’s it going? I’d love to hear from you! 🙂

Until next time…
~nic

1 I used Whole Foods 365 Original Waffles here, they are vegan. I’ve also enjoyed Nature’s Path Flax and Hemp Waffles, which are also vegan.

Leave a Reply

