5-A-Day…

I’ve had an idea swirling around in my head since yesterday. I’m already working to get more green leafy vegetables in my day, thanks to the Greener March Challenge, but I wanted to expand on that idea.

My idea is this, you know that campaign about getting 5-a-day of fruits and veggies? What if I tried to get 5 different fruits and 5 different veggies a day, each day?

So, yesterday I gave it a shot…

Breakfast: Oats with dried blueberries and dried apples
Snack: Apple, raisins, pecans, and almond butter with a side of pretzels
Lunch: Kale, carrots, red cabbage, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, and green goddess dressing with a side of crackers
Snack: Chocolate granola
Dinner: Pasta with broccoli and corn
Tally: 3 fruits, 5 vegetables

Not bad. 🙂

blue hawaiian

Today… let’s see how I’m doing…
Breakfast: Oats with dried blueberries and dried apples
Lunch: Sandwich (hummus, olive spread, cucumbers, spinach, tomato, red onion on kalamata bread) and a fruit smoothie (Blue Hawaiian: banana, blueberries, pineapple juice)
Future Snack: ?? Probably should be fruit, huh? 🙂
Future Dinner: I loaded up a container of veggies for dinner… roasted mixed veggies (mushrooms, bell peppers, eggplant, onions, cauliflower, broccoli, and zucchini), roasted potatoes, sweet potatoes with coconut, and black beans
Probable Tally: 4 fruits, 12 vegetables

mixed veggies
 
 
 
 
Just as I suspected… I need more fruit in my day. Which is why I thought I’d start this new improved 5-a-day idea… I’d call it a challenge, but I don’t want to give it an end date. I want it to become just part of my daily diet, food choices, or whatever you want to call it.

Notice that I’m not saying I’m giving anything up (I’m already a vegan, but I’m not giving up chocolate!). I’m just trying to get more variety of fruit and veg into my day.

So… what do you say? Wanna make a few changes in your daily food intake? Interested in the new improved 5-a-day?

Let me know, I’d love to hear from you!

Until next time…
~nic

3 thoughts on “5-A-Day…

  1. This is a great concept and I’m with ya! I strive for 8 servings a day but need to start mixing it up since I get bored pretty easily. I didn’t hit my goal today (but usually do at work when I have my fruit and veggie snacks on me) but fit in cuties, apple, banana, cherry tomatoes, spinach and romaine–better than nothing 🙂

  2. Pingback: Flu Recovery… | The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

