Different Day/ Different Time = Different Light…

Mar 07, 2013, 4:23 PM
EF28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM @ 28.0 mm
f/16.0 1/60s ISO 100

My class assignment this week had me scouting out a location and trying to tell a story with 5 day shots and 3 night shots. As I mentioned before, light can change drastically by just coming back at a different time or a different day.

Mar 08, 2013, 9:33 AM
EF180mm f/3.5L Macro USM @ 180.0 mm
f/20.0 1/320s ISO 200

So I decided to go to my chosen location around sunrise and sunset (give or take a few hours) each day this week. I was able to get to my location 6 times, 3 early morning and 3 day/evening over 4 days.

I took Sweetie with me on most of those outings. Bringing along a pup has it’s advantages and disadvantages. Advantages being that people are more willing to overlook your camera pointed in their direction if you have a cute Basset Hound at your side. I guess I don’t look like a creepy stalker with a cute pup. 🙂 The disadvantages are that there are some places you just can’t go with a pup, and that the pup gets tired and bored long before you are finished with your photo shoot. 😛

Mar 05, 2013, 2:28 PM
EF17-40mm f/4L USM @ 28.0 mm
f/16.0 1/15s ISO 100


 
 
 
 
 
This week was an additional challenge because it threatened to rain all week giving me quite a bit of gray light. I just kept at it and made it work though. There are a few shots that I just wasn’t happy with because I couldn’t control the light, but perhaps I can try those again later. Luckily the sun would pop out at times giving me beautiful light.

Mar 06, 2013, 7:32 AM
EF70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM @ 70.0 mm
f/11.0 1/125s ISO 100

I have way more than 8 photos that I love, and would like to share them with you here. I’m going to try to group them up into themes so that I don’t overwhelm you with too many photos at once. One of my classmates submitted more photos than the assignment stated… let’s just say that I now see the appeal of brevity. So I will try to limit the number of photos in my posts. More posts to come! 🙂

Until next time…
~nic

P.S. Don’t forget to help me decide which photos of Sweetie to submit to the calendar contest. Go vote now! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Different Day/ Different Time = Different Light…

  1. Pingback: Different Day/ Different Time = Different Light… (Surfers) | The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: Shapes in the Sand… | The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: For the Birds… | The Auspicious Squirrel

  4. Pingback: Night Shots… | The Auspicious Squirrel

  5. Pingback: OK, One More… | The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

