Leafy…

Spring is in the air and green is all around (of course, in San Diego that’s most of the year). 🙂

I found strawberries are in season here and they are delicious! I’ve been making spinach salad with strawberries and blueberries. But I have to admit that I don’t eat salads nearly as often as I should, and unfortunately, I eat already prepared meals a bit too often.

Over at MamasWeeds, Alison is doing a 30-day leafy green challenge. I could do that, right?

Well… sorta. It’s day three and I’ve had leafy greens on two of those days, heh. But I think I’m still doing pretty good.

Here’s the breakdown…

March 1 – green smoothie and a strawberry spinach salad.
March 2 – strawberries and blueberries over waffles, and um.. I had coleslaw with dinner (does that count?)
March 3 – salad with dijon vinaigrette.

I seriously don’t think I can make salad look great for 30-days straight on the blog… nor do I think anyone would enjoy “here’s what I ate” for the next month, me especially. So instead, I’m just playing around with light on salads and photographing/posting it, while mentioning that I will be making an effort to eat a salad (or putting leafy greens in a smoothie) everyday for the next month.

These two salads will be my go-to salads.

Strawberry Spinach Salad

strawberry spinach salad

  • spinach
  • strawberries
  • blueberries
  • pecans
  • raspberry vinaigrette

Salad with Dijon Vinaigrette

salad with dijon vinaigrette

  • baby greens
  • spinach
  • cucumber
  • baby carrots
  • red bell pepper
  • cashews
  • sunflower seeds
  • croutons
  • dijon vinaigrette

Will you join us for the 30-day leafy green challenge?

Until next time…
~nic

Leave a Reply

