Snails!…

I’ve been talking about showing you my snail photos for several posts now. I wasn’t trying to tease you, I just wanted to save them until after the raindrop photos (raindrops, part two, part three) .

There were snails all over the place on Sunday, many of them were teeny tiny baby snails.

If you can imagine, this snail is about the size of a pea, as in, smaller than a dime. With my macro lens I was able to get right up on the little guy. I was literally crawling on the sidewalk to get the right angle. The texture you see around the snail is indeed the sidewalk… think about that for a second, that much detail and texture on your sidewalk means you are pretty darn close up. That’s what this lens can do, did I mention I *love* this lens? Yeah, I think I have.

Anyway, two photos of snails (which might be the same snail… I’m not sure I took lots of pictures of snails that day) and photo of a (birch?) tree’s bark that was curling and reminded me of the swirl of the snail’s shell. I’m actually using these three photos for my final project, I will print them out to 12×18 inches. Which is pretty funny if you think about it, because the little snail will be huge in the print! Enjoy…

aperture: ƒ/8.0
shutter: 1/320
iso: 400
lens: EF180mm f/3.5L Macro USM
focal length: 180mm

aperture: ƒ/22.0
shutter: 1/25
iso: 1600
lens: EF180mm f/3.5L Macro USM
focal length: 180mm

aperture: ƒ/8.0
shutter: 1/200
iso: 200
lens: EF180mm f/3.5L Macro USM
focal length: 180mm

Here are the photos printed out to 12×18 inches (on 13×19 inch paper), notice the penny to show size. 😀

Until next time…
~nic

Leave a Reply

