Spiders & Waterdrops…

My latest project involves waterdrops, spiderwebs, and sometimes spiders too!

Sweetie and I went around this morning with a water bottle and my macro lens in search of spiderwebs, I found one and sprayed it lightly with a mist of water to help make the web more visible. While out walking I noticed some ‘natural’ waterdrops (made by the sprinkler system) that looked like jewels. We also came across a big green spider.

Later in the afternoon, I went back to the place where I saw the big green spider with a gold reflector and got much better pictures the second time around.

And around sunset, my taste-tester helped me mist another spiderweb that was up high, I used my telephoto lens to capture that image.

It was a great day of experimenting with different equipment and subjects… enjoy!

aperture: ƒ/4.0
shutter: 1/60
iso: 400
lens: EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro
focal length: 50mm

aperture: ƒ/5.6 (-0.33 exposure compensation)
shutter: 1/200
iso: 100
lens: EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro
focal length: 50mm

aperture: ƒ/11.0 (-0.67 exposure compensation)
shutter: 1/125
iso: 400
lens: EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro
focal length: 50mm
gold reflector

aperture: ƒ/4.5
shutter: 1/25
iso: 1600
lens: EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
focal length: 110mm

Until next time…
~nic

Leave a Reply

