Farmer’s Market…

While speaking with a new neighbor, I realized that I haven’t tried out the farmer’s markets since I moved to California. I mean, really, if you live in California shouldn’t it be part of the required tour to go to a farmer’s market? Well, somehow I’ve let nearly two years go by and I had yet to visit one in this state.

I remedied that today. :) I went to a farmer’s market, the one my new neighbor suggested, actually. She had raved about having the best strawberries she’d ever tasted and I just had to go after that.

I went with berries on my mind, and brought home a bounty of berries. I was talking with the berry farmer and he had me taste a berry that looked like a yellow raspberry, mmmmmmmmmm it was sweet and mellow, not tart like a raspberry. He said they are called ‘golden raspberries’, they were good so I had to get some, along with some blueberries and blackberries.

My next stop, well actually, I was stopped by some farmers who really *really* wanted me to taste their nectarines and/or peaches. I tried the nectarine and man oh man! It was the best nectarine I’ve ever tasted… I had to get a pound of those.

I found yet another booth with strawberries and got a basket of them as well. Not a bad haul, if I do say so myself…

As soon as I got home, I made a plate of ALL my new fruits and they were delicious together, the nectarine, blueberries, and golden raspberries were sweet while the blackberries and strawberries gave a bit of tartness. I paired it with a blueberry bagel (toasted and ‘buttered’ with soy garden), some green tea and called it breakfast. :)

Q: Have you ever been to a farmer’s market? What did you think?
There were so many booths at this market that I was a bit overwhelmed. I made a lap past all the booths before deciding were to start loading up my bag. :)

Until next time…
~nic

3 thoughts on “Farmer’s Market…

  1. Pingback: Fruit Kick… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

