Calzone Made Easy: Pantry Style…


I recently made a calzone using a dough that made making pizzas or calzones easy peasy. It took no time at all to make the dough and it was ready to use immediately (no waiting for it to rise, etc.)

When I made that set of caloznes, I had enough dough to make two more. If you’ve been reading this blog long, then you know that we have a special love of olives. I wouldn’t say we are addicted, but we definitely love the brine-y stuff. I used to make a ‘yummy bread’ (it’s been a little while) that incorporated this love of olives, so I decided to make that olive goodness this time as the filling.

I love recipes that incorporate stuff already in your pantry, this is definitely one of those kinds of recipes. I used (clockwise) marinated artichoke hearts, capers, green olives, banana peppers, kalamata olives, and mission (black) olives. I sliced/chopped them into pizza-topping sizes.

I decided to make one big calzone that I would then divide between the two of us, it seemed easier than trying to divide out the filling ingredients. This ‘big’ calzone took 14-15 minutes to get to golden (as opposed to only 12 min when there were two).

We had just a bit of pizza sauce left from the night before (heh, we love our sauce)… so I combined the leftover pizza sauce with about 1/2 a jar of spaghetti sauce (I like sockarooni).

YUM!

Not to let the fun end there, the next night I decided to make yet another batch of this crust. This time I made it a focaccia, and serve it with a big-ass salad. I rolled the dough out into a big pizza shape, then I added some olive oil, which I rubbed around evenly with my fingers. I topped it off with basil (dried), oregano, marjoram, garlic powder, salt and pepper (the salt and pepper really make this good!). I baked it in a 425°F oven for 14-15 minutes.

The salad consisted of romaine (chopped), baby spinach, broccoli slaw, cucumbers, celery, carrots, red bell pepper, and grape tomatoes (seeded). Topped with mixed nuts and balsamic vinaigrette. The broccoli slaw worked out great, and added even more vitamins to my dinner . 🙂

YUM!

Until next time…
~nic

3 thoughts on “Calzone Made Easy: Pantry Style…

  1. Calzones remind me of a recipe for a similar stuffed dough with lightly saucers seasoned broccoli and ricotta. There may be a vegan option for the cheese lightening the vegetables and adding a different texture.
    We had our first dusting of snow and I am starting to think hearty Italian…

Leave a Reply

