Calzone Made Easy…


All week I’ve been wanting pizza. But I’ve been putting it off because I didn’t want to spend two hours making the pizza dough.

It turns out, I was putting it off for no reason. I recently purchased a different kind of yeast, pizza crust yeast. According to the package, it could be made in about 15 minutes or so. Now that I can get on board with. 🙂

So today, I decided that I would indeed make a pizza… or rather a couple of calzones.

It really did take absolutely no time at all to make the dough. In fact, I made it and put it in the fridge for an hour because I wasn’t ready to eat yet.

When I was ready to start dinner, I took the dough out of the fridge to let it get back to room temperature, and then started to assemble what I would put in the calzones. Normally, I make a killer zucchini calzone, but I was craving black olives and decided to make it more of a ‘veggie works’ calzone.

My filling ingredients included: onion, garlic, zucchini, grape tomatoes (seeded), bell pepper (not pictured), mushrooms, and black olives. I seasoned/sauteed the filling with marjoram, basil, oregano, salt & pepper, and olive oil. For the sauce, I used a can of pizza sauce, yum.

I only used 1/2 the dough to make the two calzones. Which means, I’ll be able to make more later with other fillings.

I baked the calzone in a preheated 425°F oven on a pizza stone for 12 minutes.

Yum!

Until next time…
~nic

3 thoughts on “Calzone Made Easy…

  1. Damn, these look awesome. I was just thinking today how I need to buy pizza dough next time I go to the store. I think I should buy the mix though b/c it’s probably cheaper and I need to make a mental note to myself that I can make calzones and not just pizza. Pizza is my go to but I like to mix it up.

    • Tiffany – I like pizza too, but with calzones you can put toppings inside that might otherwise get dried out or burned… plus you get to have as much sauce (on the side) as you can handle, whereas you have to limit the sauce on a pizza least you get a soggy one. 🙂

      This crust was so easy and quick. I just followed the directions on the back of the yeast packet.

  2. Pingback: Calzone Made Easy: Pantry Style… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

