Potato Chowder…


Chowder… pronounced ‘chowda’.

What makes a soup a soup, a stew a stew, and a chowder a chowder? According to Wikipedia, Chowder is a thick stew that usually has milk or cream in it.

I totally made up the name for this soup, maybe it’s just potato and corn soup. But I felt like calling it ‘chowda’. šŸ˜‰

Potatoes O'brienSome time back I found a recipe for corn chowder, it was made with mostly frozen foods, so it was super easy to make. It was then that I discovered something delicious called ‘Potatoes O’brien’. Folks, this stuff is pretty cool. Normally it is used to make hash browns. Basically, it’s frozen cubes of potatoes with red & green peppers, and onions. Ingenious!

I looked high and low for that corn chowder recipe and couldn’t find it. So I decided to try to recreate it from memory, with a little twist.

potato leek soup There is this creamy potato soup that I like, but I always feel the need to add some spices and I like some texture in my soups, ie. chunks of veggies.

So I created this easy-peasy soup, I mean ‘chowda’, using mostly frozen veggies, a shelf stable soup, and some spices.

Once your pantry/freezer is stocked. The next inclement weather day, where you find you can’t get to the grocery store, know that you can have a nice warm comforting bowl of chowder. šŸ™‚

Potato Chowder
Yields: 6 servings

1 Tbsp. olive oil
1 bag of potatoes o’brien, I used Ore Ida
1/4-1/2 bag frozen corn
1/2 tsp basil, or to taste
1/2 tsp oregano, or to taste
dash of garlic powder, to taste
salt and pepper, to taste
1 carton of potato soup, I used Imagine Creamy Potato Leek soup
1/2 cup water
1 tsp. better than bouillon vegetable soup base
1 bay leaf

Add the olive oil to a soup pot over medium heat. Add the potatoes o’brien and the corn. Stirring occasionally, add basil, oregano, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Once potatoes are slightly defrosted (at least not sticking together any more), add the potato soup. Using the 1/2 cup of water, pour into soup carton to remove last of soup, then pour into soup pot. Add better than bouillon soup base and a bay leaf. Bring to a boil.

Lower heat and simmer until potatoes are done, stirring occasionally, about an hour or so. Defrosting the potatoes and corn will most likely reduce this time, I have not tried it yet.

Serve with a dark rye bread. Enjoy.

Yum!

Until next time…
~nic

One thought on “Potato Chowder…

  1. Pingback: Lasagna Revisited… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

