Flamingo Diptych…


Man am I tired. Whew. This sweet little girl likes her walks! I calculated that I’ve walked nearly 28 miles since I’ve had her, which is only 10 days. Sadly that is farther than I’ve walked in most months, heh. 😳

I’d love to say that the pounds are just melting off, but thanks to the recent holidays my sweet tooth has been in hyperdrive (Thanks F & P πŸ˜‰ ). I foresee the loss of some weight in the months to come though. Seriously, if I keep up this pace the pounds have to melt off, right? I’m already craving salads instead of sweets so that’s a good thing.

Ok, are you ready for the next installment of my photography class homework? For this assignment we were to correct the exposure and then make a diptych of the before and after. I tried out several pictures and submitted two for critique.

The first one was actually easier than the second. Even though this shot is 4 stops underexposed, it wasn’t so far gone that I couldn’t recover it. The instructor was pretty amazed, as was I. I’ve tried to recover other pictures that are underexposed and they didn’t turn out this well. I guess I just got lucky on this one. πŸ™‚ The odd thing is that the diptychs look great side-by-side for comparison, that is until you try to post them, then the picture is too small… I suggest you click to enlarge.

The second one is more subtle and was a bit more difficult to fix. The top photo is the ‘before’ and you can see that the bridge is underexposed (too dark), so is the sidewalk area in the background, and the dark wings on the flamingos. The flamingos also have some overexposed areas (too bright) on their necks. Overexposure is also evident on the ground the flamingos are standing on. I fixed the picture using layers and masks.

I feel that the ‘after’ picture is overall the better photo, although looking at it now (weeks later) I think I’d add a bit more contrast to make the photo not so flat… oh well. Have I mentioned before that I’m a perfectionist? Heh.

I hope you enjoyed those photos. πŸ™‚ I’m thinking about taking a nap before dinner, but I probably won’t… maybe I’ll just go to bed early tonight.

My next post, I’m really excited about. It’s a picture in picture of a hummingbird, I really like that one. πŸ™‚

Until next time…
~nic

2 thoughts on “Flamingo Diptych…

  1. 28 miles in 10 days? Damn, that is just awesome. At least you’re getting out there and doing something! I have a bad knee so my max is like 3 or 4 miles a day if I have motivation to go walking (which of course I have today when its snowing out)

    Love the flamingo pics, they are so pretty.

    • Tiffany – It averages out to about 3 miles a day, keep in mind that it is over the course of 3 or 4 outings (starting around 6am). Some outings are just over a half mile where as others are a mile and a half. I took her on a 3 mile walk once and she let me know that was a bit too far. For her last outing of the night, I usually have my taste-tester take her (without me), so she is actually walking farther than me. πŸ˜›

      She is a quick walker and sometimes breaks out into a run for no apparent reason. I feel pretty out of shape, but she’s a great trainer. Haha. She’s whipping me into shape, that’s for sure. Oh and don’t forget the stairs… I live on the third floor and now I’m taking the stairs at least 3 times a day. Whew. It’s fun though, and that’s what exercise should be. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

