Indian Dahl, Curried Potatoes, and Tofu Tikka Masala…


In my last post I had a picture of some produce and asked what you would make with it…

I made Indian Dhal (p. 5), Curried Potatoes (p.11), and Tofu Tikka Masala (p.33), served with peas, wheat pita bread, and lots of water.


All from a great new cookbook I recently purchased, Taste of the East by Mark Reinfeld and Jennifer Murray.

They all came out very well. On Monday I made the first two, but ran out of time to make the one with tofu (which I made on Tuesday).

The Indian Dahl came out more like a soup than the creamy lentils I was expecting, but it was good none the less, and spicy!

The potatoes came out great as well, the recipe calls for steaming the potatoes which is a nice reminder that mashed potatoes don’t have to be boiled, these were spicy too!

So then I started to wonder, why was my curry so dang hot? The answer I’ve come up with is… not all curry powders are the same combination of spices.

This is both good and bad. It’s good because if you come across one you don’t like, there are others you can try. The bad part is that if you have curry out at a restaurant that you really like and want to recreate at home, good luck trying to replicate that combo of spices in your curry powder.

I have a few ideas about why my curry powder is so spicy. One clue might have been the name, Muchi Curry. Apparently (from research on the web), Muchi Curry is the hot curry. Taking a closer look, I can see why… it has three kinds of pepper; black, cayenne, and white. I started to wonder about the mace too… luckily that is a part of nutmeg, so it’s not a contributor, whew.

Luckily for me, instead of my leftovers getting hotter over time, they seemed to mellow out. Or maybe it was just the addition of the Tofu Tikka Masala which is full of yummy coconut creamy goodness. Either way, the last few nights have been a nice buffet of Indian food (and will continue to be so for a few nights more).

Have you found a curry blend that you love? Tell me about it. 😀

Until next time…
~nic

5 thoughts on “Indian Dahl, Curried Potatoes, and Tofu Tikka Masala…

  1. I’ve been having an intense craving for Indian lately…..and I dont even like Indian food all that much! I do want to start experimenting more with it though since practically everyone knows swears on it. I think curry is the main thing that stands in my way though because of the smell. I tried yellow once and had to spit it out lol. But I did try red and liked it, now just for the green……

    • Tiffany – While trying to figure out why my curry was so hot, I picked up Garam Masala and a different curry powder… the two new ones didn’t have fenugreek in them, so they smelled different… I wonder if that is the smell you don’t like? The garam masala is the milder curry without the turmeric, which might also be what you don’t like. You might take a look at the ingredients of various curry powders and pastes and see if any of them have an ingredient you don’t know/like…

  2. Pingback: Experimenting… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

