Weekly Photo Challenge: Comfort


This week’s photo challenge theme is comfort…

I love this time of year, the air is getting crisper, the holidays are fun (Talk like a pirate day, Oktoberfest, Halloween), and I look forward to warm meals.

I love the smell of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cloves. These scents just bring warm feelings of autumn.

I’ve been meaning to make this cake for weeks, it is a German apple cake. I had wanted to make it when we were observing Oktoberfest. I was finally able to take time out today.

I had forgotten just how much we like this cake! I had written last year that we ate it all in just one day, now I remember why, it is awesome!

Normally, I like to boast that my baked goods are not only vegan, but also healthy… I’m not so sure I can boast healthy this time. Sure there are real apples in it, but it is made with white flour and white sugar. Healthy?… not so much. Delicious, definitely! (For the recipe see: The Joy of Vegan Baking by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau p.76).

While thinking of this week’s photo challenge theme, I came to realize that baking is very comforting to me. I’ve always enjoyed baking, I just never seem to find the time.

This German apple cake is comfort on so many levels… it is not only an opportunity for me to bake, but it is, hopefully, the start of many warm, autumn scents coming from my kitchen this season.

Speaking of warm autumn scents…

We enjoyed a nice dinner of sweet potatoes, black beans (homemade), and spinach salad. I think autumn is finally here. 🙂

What do you find comforting?

Until next time…
~nic

5 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Comfort

  1. Oh hey apple cake buddy! Yes this cake is definitely delicious. 🙂 I agree about baking being a comfort thing. I tend to bake a lot more when I stressed or upset.

  2. Pingback: Diptych… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

