Oktoberfest…


I was informed this morning that today was the last day of Oktoberfest. What?! Already?

I’ve made a rather lame and feeble attempt to celebrate Oktoberfest in the past weeks. Don’t get me wrong, they were delicious lame and feeble attempts, but to compare them to last year’s 5-day feast… well, it was rather lame.

I made sauerkraut veggie burgers with spicy brown mustard on pumpernickel bread, fries, red cabbage, and a kale salad on the side…

A few days ago, I tried to be a bit more creative. I made fried potatoes and onions, sauerkraut, red cabbage, green beans, and red beans (we finished off the sauerkraut and red cabbage)…

Yes, they were tasty, but they just didn’t have that feast feel that I wanted. So tonight (after purchasing more sauerkraut and red cabbage) I did what any insane person would do and I cooked up as many dishes as I could in just a little over an hour.

Now, I can say we had an Oktoberfest feast! Cucumber salad, goulash, mashed potatoes, jaeger sauce, sauerkraut, red cabbage, and rye bread with mustard. Yum!…

I ran out of time, so I was not able to make sweet and sour red cabbage with apples and tempeh. Nor was I able to make German apple cake, but I have the apples and hope to find the time tomorrow.

Are there any holidays that you try to make a special meal for? This time of year is our favorite, so I like to make some German-inspired dishes for Oktoberfest, and I like making fun food for Halloween.

Until next time…
~nic

5 thoughts on “Oktoberfest…

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Comfort « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

