Hummingbirds…


Before I get to the hummingbirds, I thought you all would like an update on what’s been going on since my last post.

On Friday, I woke up with a sore throat, luckily I did not have to do jury duty on Friday, so I was able to stay home and rest. And rest I did, all.weekend.long.

Saturday, my throat was still quite sore, so I spent the day taking it easy, drinking plenty of orange juice, hot tea, and finally made tomato soup for dinner (which my taste-tester lovingly went out to the store to purchase for me).

Sunday, my throat felt better, but I felt like I had been hit by a truck. I was so weak and my muscles hurt and I was beginning to get a headache. Again, I took it easy, and decided to lounge in the living room. I finally broke down and took some medication (one dose of day-quill) in an effort to stave off sneezing (which would make my throat hurt). I also hoped it would work towards relieving my aches and pains (because it has acetaminophen in it). To my surprise, it knocked me out. Soundly I slept in the living room for 4 1/2 hours. I also sweated in my sleep, which, I think, was what my body needed. When I awoke, I felt a lot better.

That brings us to today. I woke up early to get downtown for jury duty. Grateful that I had had the opportunity to allow my body to rest before the week of running around. But guess what!? They settled just moments before court was in session this morning. We were told we could go home! Yay! Which means my jury duty is officially over. While I was curious about how the system worked, I have to say, I’m not sorry that I can get back to my life. Woohoo.

In my last post, I mentioned that I recently purchased a macro lens. My lens is kind of a two-fer, if you will. It’s a 50mm prime lens that has the capability to do macro (Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro Lens).

It took some trial and error to get used to the new lens. My other lenses are zoom lenses, so when I want to get closer or farther, I’d change the focal length by rotating the lens. For the 50mm lens, I had to move my body to get closer or farther, or more accurately, better focused. It takes time, but I think I’m starting to get the hang of it.

It’s been awhile since I’ve talked about my little hummingbird garden. I have several flowers in pots that I think the hummingbirds would enjoy and I have a hummingbird feeder. They love the feeder. They love the feeder so much that they are willing to stay there while I creep up on them with my macro lens!

So when you look at these photos, yes, I am that close! At first they were wary of the noise the camera was making, but since I seem to not be a threat, they stuck around and let me play with my new lens.

I did make some post production changes, but mostly that was due to exposure differences in this lens and my other lenses (over- and under-exposed). I did NOT crop any of these pictures… that really is how close I was able to get to the hummingbirds. 🙂

I hope you enjoy!

Exposure: 1/1000 sec at f/2.8, ISO100


Exposure: 1/4000 sec at f/2.8, ISO100


Exposure: 1/4000 sec at f/2.8, ISO100


Exposure: 1/4000 sec at f/2.8, ISO100


Exposure: 1/4000 sec at f/2.8, ISO100


Exposure: 1/4000 sec at f/2.8, ISO100




Until next time…
~nic

Camera: Canon EOS REBEL T2i
Lens: Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Macro

One thought on “Hummingbirds…

  1. Pingback: I’ve Come A Long Way, Baby… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

