It has been a strange couple of weeks…


Last week I had my final exam for my accounting class. This week, I was summoned for jury duty and my new accounting class started. In the interim, we attempted to have a stay-cation… we took lots of walks, hung out together, and even made it to the aquarium to see some sea-dragons. πŸ™‚

Now, here I sit. I finished my final exam (I made an A in the class πŸ™‚ ). I went through the process of jury selection, and was selected. I’ve watched the beginnings of a court case through the eyes of a juror (instead of watching it on tv). And I’ve started a new accounting class (my new photography class doesn’t start for another month or so).

Originally, I had the same visceral reaction we all probably have, of not wanting to be selected to sit in the jury box. But now that I have been selected, I am going to do my very best. Because, if I ever need to go to court, I sure as heck expect the jury to do their job. I am actually a bit excited to learn more about how a court proceeding happens, and what my job as juror entails. I have a very important role in these proceedings, I will give it all the concentration it deserves.

In all the hubbub of stressful situations, and being surrounded by lots of people all day, I now have a sore throat. πŸ˜• Luckily, we, as jurors, have today off. Hopefully, I will be well by the next court session.

Sometime before my final exam, I ordered a macro lens for my camera, it arrived just after my photography class ended, but before my accounting final exam. I tinkered with it some, during study breaks, and it took some practice to get familiar with the new lens.

Most of my initial shots are crap, but over time, I began to understand what I needed to do to get some good photos. I plan to share some of those with you in upcoming posts. I also brought that lens with me to the aquarium, so I have some cool pics of fish and sea-dragons.

In other news, I continued to keep track of my calories, though the two days where I was in court it was a bit harder to figure out the numbers, but I’m doing my best to be accurate.

I lost 1.5 lbs during weeks 1 & 2 each (I lost 3 lbs total), but maintained my weight during week 3 (which is better than gaining). We are in week 4 currently, and I hope to continue making improvements in what I eat, how much I eat, and how much exercise I do. Speaking of exercise, it has been much easier to just walk to places (keeping track of mileage on my garmin) rather than make time for yoga or a jog, but I do hope to squeeze those into my schedule too.

I have also updated my about page, if you are interested.

That just about wraps up what’s been going on around here.

I have plans to make a German feast over the next few days, like I’ve done before, for Oktoberfest. We’ve started it up just a bit, with the limited time I had last week. I’ll show you pics of the yummy food we’ve had and the food I plan to create. πŸ™‚

Minestrone Soup, in pictures

For now, I’ll leave you with a food-centric slide-show of me making a minestrone soup while playing with my new macro lens. Hope you enjoy.

My posts may get a bit more sporadic while I’m doing my civic duty (jury duty), but please stop by and see if I have a new post from time to time, will ya?

If you want to make sure you don’t miss a post, feel free to subscribe to my blog. You can do that by clicking on the button labeled ‘sign me up!’ in the top right-hand corner. πŸ™‚

Until next time…
~nic

5 thoughts on “It has been a strange couple of weeks…

  1. Pingback: Hummingbirds… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Congrats on the A! I’ve never been called to do jury duty (knock on wood) but have always been intrigued by it. With my luck, if I ever did get called to do it, it would probably be some huge murder trial and be separated from society for months on end.

    Congrats on the weight loss as well!

    • Tiffany – I was so worried mine would be this 4 month long thing where I was sequestered… luckily it was a civil trial and they settled only after a few days of being in session. A bit disappointed not to know what the final outcome was, but not sorry that I get to go back to my life, ya know?

Leave a Reply

