Bun Chay…


There was a time, very long ago, that I would go out to lunch with my friend and co-worker. I was a new vegetarian, so you know this story was some time ago. My friend and I would occasionally head out to a favorite-of-her’s and new-to-me restaurant. On one such occasion, she took me to a Vietnamese restaurant. I took her advice and ordered what she was having, only mine would have tofu instead of chicken.

It was a great meal, and a great experience. We went back to that restaurant many more times together while I worked with her. But alas, I left that job, moved away, and haven’t heard from her in years. But the memory of her friendship and our lunches together live on in my mind.

A few times, I have tried to find the dish that I had on a menu, and I’ve even tried to make it at home a time or two.

It is a simple meal, one that I thought would be easy to find, but has eluded me for years. I figured out this past week that I have been thinking that it was called Pho, but no, as it turns out it’s not. Pho is hot noodle soup, I’ve been looking for a cold noodle salad. I did however, find something very very similar called Bun Chay.

The salad that I remember from days of yore, had lettuce and cilantro on the bottom, topped with cucumbers, noodles, peanuts, fried tofu, a thin sauce (which I later found out was fish sauce), and lime. This recipe is very similar to that idea, except instead of fish sauce, it uses a vegetarian alternative.

I made a few changes:

  1. I used brown rice noodles
  2. I used baked tofu (smoked teriyaki flavor)
  3. I added carrots and red bell pepper
  4. I topped it off with Seaweed Gomasio in an attempt to give it a more sea-flavor from the seaweed
  5. I omitted the bean sprouts

The ‘salad’ layer (romaine, cucumber, carrots, red bell pepper, baked tofu, cilantro)…

The noodle layer and toppings (brown rice noodles, peanuts, seaweed gomasio, and sauce [lime juice, soy sauce, sugar, water, garlic])…

Verdict? YUM! ๐Ÿ˜€

These pictures are actually from the second night of this meal. I used half the package of baked tofu per night (1 pkg = 4 servings). We enjoyed this with bread and margarine on the side. ๐Ÿ˜€

Until next time…
~nic

One thought on “Bun Chay…

  1. Pingback: Playing With Background Color… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

