It Has Potential…


I mentioned in my earlier post that in Vegas we tried a vegan Reuben. I thought I’d try to make one at home. Now I still stand behind my earlier statement that I’m not really a fan of fake meat and fake cheese, but… I’m willing to give them a try every once in a while. The vegan Reuben we had in Vegas was made with tempeh and Daiya cheddar cheese (vegan cheese).

I decided to make mine with:

Exposure: 1/4 sec at f/5.6, ISO100
Lens: 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6

Pumpernickel Bread
Daiya cheddar vegan cheese
sauerkraut
vegan Thousand Island
tempeh
earth balance – soy garden

I decided to make mine a bit more like a grilled cheese by putting margarine on the outside and grilling it in a frying pan. It’s a bit tricky getting it flipped over, but with the tips of my fingers I got it to work.

Exposure: 2 sec at f/11, ISO100
Lens: 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6

~the sandwich and the frying pan’s rivets look like a face to me.. heehee ~

Looks delicious!

Exposure: 2 sec at f/11, ISO100
Lens: 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6

Unfortunately, my Reuben wasn’t as tasty as the one we had in Vegas. I’ve had tempeh before, but I’ve always marinated it first and then grilled it. This time I just cut it straight from the container, it had a very strong flavor. A flavor I wasn’t incredibly fond of, actually. But it has potential. It could be the flavor of tempeh that I purchased (I normally buy the one with veggies in it), or it could be that I need to cook it a bit in water to take out some of the bitter flavor. It’s a work in progress.

The main reason I’m going ahead and blogging about it is two-fold. One, the pictures turned out great, if I do say so myself. I used custom white balance and didn’t have to do any post processing, yeah me! And two, because, I think it’s important to show that everyone makes experimental mistakes in the kitchen, sometimes you win, sometimes you lose. But it’s the process that will teach you the most. So don’t be afraid to step outside your comfort zone every once in awhile. 🙂

I made a third sandwich that we shared, this one I omitted the tempeh and we liked it. So I’ve isolated the flavor that we weren’t fond of, now to just figure out what I can do in the future to make the tempeh a little less bitter. Any ideas?

Until next time…
~nic

Leave a Reply

