Knowledge is seeping out of my brain!…


Things are going really well for me and my school work. I was able to finish up my homework (in both classes) by 8pm on Sunday night. Yea me!

The odd thing is that, I think I’ve hit a learning wall. I was going over the answers to my accounting homework, and I got one very long answer (read: lots of steps, full page) completely wrong. The thing is, I knew the correct answer! Somehow, I started the answer out reversed, and the rest of the answer fed off the first part, so I made the same reversed mistakes all the way down the page, making the entire answer wrong.

I decided to take my knowledge from exercise into account (haha, get it? account), and take a ‘rest day’. Clearly the study schedule I’ve been on has been more than my brain can absorb. I find myself forgetting simple things in life too, not just in my accounting class.

Case in point, yesterday I couldn’t for the life of me remember what the name of this was:

Leafy Horse-fish?

That’s what I came up with.. WTF? Really?

My taste-tester was trying to figure out what the heck I was talking about. I was telling him that sometime we need to make time to go to the aquarium so that we could see those…

Me: What are they called… Leafy Horse-fish? You know the leafy horses in the water?

Him: Leafy Sea-dragon?

Me: Yeah, but what’s the horse word?

Him: Sea-horse?

Me: Yeah, that’s it!

It was at that point that we both decided that I might need some downtime from studying. Heh. Horse-fish. Ugh.

So I took time out from studying yesterday to allow my brain to rest. I’ve decided that perhaps I should take this time to review, before pushing forward on to more new concepts. Today I’ve redone my homework problems from the first chapter, but found myself really restless (I have 5 more chapters to review).

So I decided that perhaps what I needed was a boost of energy. And as counter-intuitive as it might sound, exercising gives you more energy. So now I’m sitting here (dripping with sweat) cooling off from a 2-mile jog. I feel good. But I still want to push forward on my studying. I’m anxious about my mid-term, which is just around the corner, and I’m not sure I’m ready. I think the best course of action is to take a few steps backward, review the previous chapters and find my weak areas.

Have you ever hit a learning wall? What did you do?

Horse-fish. Sheesh.

Until next time…
~nic

8 thoughts on “Knowledge is seeping out of my brain!…

  1. Go to an art museum or gallery. Exercise a completely different part of your brain. Works wonders.
    Good luck on the exam!

    • Susan and Greta – Thanks, that’s a great idea! I kind of had a similar idea by signing up for accounting and photography at the same time. I’ve just been feeling so behind in accounting that I haven’t been spending as much time on the photography as I would like. But I will definitely start spending more time with photography.

      I’ve also taken a few study breaks by playing a video game (like tetris) to work a different part of my brain. We read something a while back about repetitious video games being a good way to remember what you are studying. πŸ™‚

  2. Oh my, I’m sitting here at Starbucks laughing aloud at your post….in a good way of course! First at the “I decided to take my knowledge from exercise into account” and then leafy horse. I definitely have days like that where I can’t think of the simplest of things and that is when I decided to relax, get away from the computer or books and watch Jerseylicious. It makes me feel smarter!

  3. This post especially cracked me up. There have been so many occasions when I couldn’t think of words that my brain just starts making words up. Thankfully my husband can translate!

  4. Learning walls suck because they never come when you don’t have anything to learn!

    Who ever suggested going to a museum or art gallery is kinda right: yes, do something different but don’t go there and over think the experience.

    I’ve also found sneaking alcohol into a bad (read: good) summer movie and gorging myself on popcorn and red licorice is also a good counter measure for the learning wall.

Leave a Reply

