Checking In…


Wow! Has it really been a week since I’ve written a post? Heh.

Dear readers, friends, and family, I have not forgotten about you (hopefully you have not forgotten about me). Quite the opposite, I think about you during my day all the time, trying to think of something interesting to write about.

It’s just that this past week has been a VERY busy one. School started last week, and I’m so glad that I made the time to read the first two chapters before class… otherwise I think I might have been lost. Now I’m trying to keep up that same pace (we cover two chapters a week) in that class. My other class started this week, and I was really anxious about it, since my other class is so intense. Luckily, that class is going to go at a more leisurely pace, so I might be able to keep my sanity.

So far, I’ve learned that I don’t know anything about accounting and I feel like I have to be ahead just to be average in class. The glass half full – I’ve picked up quite a bit of terminology and concepts in a very short amount of time, I feel confident that I am on the right path.

I’ve also learned that my photography class a few weeks ago that really challenged me (because it was an advanced class, apparently) has helped me to be not quite so freaked out in the photography class I’m in now (a beginner class). The photography class is going to go at a pace that I think will be very comfortable yet still engage me.

Speaking of photography, I took some photos on a walk earlier this week. This will probably be one of the last times I will be using auto focus. Yes, you read that correctly. We are going full manual mode in my photography class… manual white balance, manual focus, manual aperture, manual shutter speed, manual ISO… you get the idea. Eek.

So, the following photos were taken with auto focus on, but the aperture and shutter speed were set by me (the ISO was on auto). Full manual mode will be an interesting challenge.

Since this is technically a ‘food blog’, I thought I’d make your mouths water. This week my taste-tester and I are dining on homemade (vegan) lasagna. I made the red sauce one day and then the lasagna the next. It made lots of leftovers! Yum! That bechamel sauce is really good, it gives it that moisture/creaminess you expect from a cheese.. but there is no cheese in my lasagna. 🙂

Well, the phrase that I have been uttering for the last few weeks and will undoubtedly be saying for some time to come, I need to go study.

Until next time…
~nic

6 thoughts on “Checking In…

  1. Oh WOW. That lasagna looks AMAZING. I’ve had a mind to make some, but I haven’t found something that inspired me enough since I became vegan. I contemplated making some cashew ricotta, but I haven’t been able to bring myself to do it. This…. this on the other hand looks a little closer to something that would make me happeh!

    • Izzy – I completely understand, fake cheese doesn’t really do it for me. I basically just made a ‘white sauce’ and instead of adding cheese or broth, I added some nutritional yeast. I added a touch of arrowroot to thicken it up just a bit more. Also I added the spices/herbs that were in the other parts of the dish, just to round out the flavor. I hope you do try it out.

  2. Well, look at the bright side, at least you are keeping busy right? Are you only doing those two classes for now or are you going to do some each semester?

    I like the pic with the two yellow flowers.

    PS-I’m in your old stomping grounds. Well, kinda, DC area. I know you used to be up here but not sure where exactly.

    • simplyshaka – Yeah, I’m taking one photography class and one accounting class… depending on how it goes this semester (summer), I am seriously considering taking more classes of each. In true geekdom form, I have a flowchart of each letting me know when I can take the next class based on prerequisites and when it is usually offered. Haha. So far, I’m thinking I’ll continue for a while. They have a certificate program, I might get a certificate in each. We’ll see.

      I used to live in Alexandria… closer to Springfield. My apartment was just minutes away from 4 different metro stops, so anytime I wanted to go ‘downtown’ to DC, it was just a short drive (or bus ride) to the metro and then I could go anywhere the metro went. I’ve seen that lately it is HOT in the DC area… ugh. Stay cool and have fun! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Manual Focus (Hummingbirds)… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

