Veggie Potpie Stew…


I know what you are going to say… that cookbook again?! I say, hey, when you find something good! *shrug*

Yes, I’ve made yet another recipe from Appetite for Reduction (by Isa Chandra Moskowitz), this time Veggie Potpie Stew (p. 251). My changes were minor, I used green split peas (instead of yellow), I used dried thyme (instead of fresh), and I used golden potatoes (instead of russet, and I did NOT peel them).

A new trick I learned was the slurry, a mixture of flour and water that you add to the stew in the last step to thicken the broth. It really gave it the tell tale sauce of a potpie.

Rather than making a crust or adding dumplings, I made biscuits.

For the biscuits, I turned to my absolute favorite cookbook, The Zen Monastery Cookbook. Just holding this cookbook puts me at ease. Within the cookbook are recipes, of course, but there are also little stories (usually funny, or make you think) from monks at the monastery. The monk telling the story usually tells a story about his turn at being cook. So cool.

I made the biscuits (aka cat heads, named because they are the size of a cat’s head) from p. 72, but then added my own twist to them. First, I guess my cat’s heads aren’t that big, because if I make them any bigger they don’t seem to cook all the way through. I just make them the same size as I make any drop biscuit, which is more like a kitten’s head? I don’t know, it feels weird to estimate the size of something by the size of a beloved pet’s head.

Let’s move on.

Since this cookbook is rather hard to find, and I’ve made some changes to the recipe anyway, I’m going to go ahead and post the recipe I came up with.

Biscuits
adapted from The Zen Monastery Cookbook (p.72)
Yield: about 8 biscuits

☀ 1 cup soymilk
☀ 1 tsp. apple cider vinegar

☀ 1/2 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
☀ 1 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
☀ 2 tsp. baking powder
☀ 1 tsp. salt
☀ 1/2 tsp. each of thyme and sage (these were the flavors in my stew, feel free to omit or substitute)

☀ 1 1/3 Tbsp. margarine (I used earth balance olive oil blend — because I accidentally bought it instead of soy garden and need to use it up. FYI, they changed the color of soy garden.)

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F.
  2. In a separate container (I use a liquid measuring cup) combine soy milk and apple cider vinegar, set aside. This will curdle the soymilk so that you will have ‘buttermilk’.
  3. Combine all dry ingredients into a bowl. Add margarine and combine until crumbly, I use a fork.
  4. Add the ‘buttermilk’ to the crumbly mixture, keeping stirring to a minimum.
  5. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper, or a silicone mat. Drop biscuits onto lining (I use two forks to get more texture) in similar shapes to ensure even cooking, I was able to get 8 biscuits.
  6. Bake for 15-18 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean and biscuits are lightly browned on top. I wanted mine a bit more golden, so I added an additional 3 minutes to mine (total baking time: 21 min).
  7. Enjoy!

Until next time…
~nic

Leave a Reply

