Stir-fry, Oh How I Love Thee…


We’ve been having clean-up night for several nights in a row. Clean-up night is usually one of two things; either we are cleaning up leftovers in a buffet-like style, or I have created some random dish using produce that needs to be eaten soon.

This time I’m referring to the buffet-like meal. There is something great about putting dishes that have nothing in common together on your plate. First of all, you already know you’re going to love each dish, because you’ve had it before. Secondly, you don’t have to choose which leftovers you want more tonight. You get to have a little of everything available.

So it was while I was enjoying a plate with Red Thai Tofu, Quinoa Puttanesca, and Sauteed Kasha & Mushrooms with Dill that I made the comment that I really REALLY liked the Red Thai Tofu. I decided that I could make a stir-fry and have it again with just a few extra veggies.

And that’s exactly what I did over the weekend (once all the other leftovers were gone).

Here’s what I did…

I took the recipe Red Thai Tofu from Appetite for Reduction (by Isa Chandra Moskowitz) and added carrots, celery, bok choy, and a red onion. Then I served it over brown jasmine rice. After we ate the first servings, I decided that I wanted more sauce so I added some more to the leftovers. This recipe incorporates these changes.

Red Thai Tofu Stir-fry
adapted from Appetite for Reduction (by Isa Chandra Moskowitz) (p.149)
Yield: 4-6 servings

☀ brown jasmine rice

Stir-fry veggies and tofu:
☀ 1 Tbsp. olive oil
☀ salt, pinch
☀ 1 red onion, cut in half then sliced with the grain to form bite-size strips
☀ 1/2 cup sliced shallots
☀ 4 cloves garlic, minced
☀ 1 Tbsp. minced ginger
☀ 1 red bell pepper, seeded and sliced thinly
☀ 1 carrot, sliced diagonally
☀ 1 celery, sliced diagonally
☀ 1 bok choy, stem sliced diagonally; leaves chopped
☀ 1 pkg baked tofu (I used Royal Thai flavored), cut into bite-size cubes
☀ 15 leaves fresh basil, finely chopped

Red Curry sauce:
☀ 1 cup water, heated
☀ 2 Tbsp Thai red curry paste
☀ 4 Tbsp. soy sauce
☀ 2 Tbsp. agave nectar

  1. Start jasmine rice, cook according to package directions. I generally make 4 servings worth.
  2. Heat olive oil in a large skillet or wok. Add onion and shallots with a pinch of salt. Saute for a few minutes, then add garlic and ginger and saute a few minutes more.
  3. Next add bell pepper, carrots, celery, and bok choy (stems and leaves), saute for a few minutes.
  4. While the veggies are cooking to desired tenderness, combine the sauce ingredients into a separate container. The water can be measured out in a measuring cup and put in the microwave for a few minutes. I do this so that the curry paste will dissolve.
  5. When the veggies are nearly to desired tenderness, add the sauce, baked tofu, and basil leaves. Cook until veggies reach desired tenderness and the tofu is heated through. The sauce will remain a bit soupy (if you want to thicken it, you might try some cornstarch).
  6. Serve over the jasmine rice, don’t forget to add some of that yummy sauce.
  7. Enjoy!

I do love stir-frys! Rating: Awesome.

Until next time…
~nic

2 thoughts on “Stir-fry, Oh How I Love Thee…

Leave a Reply

