Quinoa Puttanesca…


Continuing my adventures through the awesome cookbook Appetite for Reduction (by Isa Chandra Moskowitz), I made Quinoa Puttanesca (p.75) last night.

I’m not going to post the recipe, but as it turns out, Isa’s blog has the recipe posted, so a win for you. šŸ™‚

It is my understanding that Puttanesca sauce is a spicy red sauce with olives and capers in it, so naturally I was very excited to try this dish.

I made a few modifications:

☀ I used white cooking wine, because I don’t drink and have no clue how to pick out wine, much less how to store it afterwards.

☀ I used half the amount of capers.

☀ I added a small can of tomato sauce, because it turned out to be a bit too spicy for me. In the future, I will used half the amount of crushed red pepper flakes.

I had my taste-tester taste the sauce both before and after the addition of the extra (small) can of tomato sauce, he liked it both ways. Even though I thought I might be able to handle the dish without the extra sauce on the first day, I know from experience that spicy things get hotter as leftovers. So I opted to add more tomato sauce so that I’d still be able to enjoy leftovers.

I have no idea why the dishes I’ve chosen so far have all been on the spicy side, but my taste-tester has been loving it. The next dish I plan to make from the cookbook has mushrooms in it, I don’t think it will be hot… I’ll be making that soon, like today or tomorrow (mushrooms have a short shelf life).

As for the Quinoa Puttanesca, it was awesome! I served it with bread toasted under the broiler with soy garden (earth balance) and garlic powder. The garlic bread helped to cool off my mouth. Yum.

Until next time…
~nic

3 thoughts on “Quinoa Puttanesca…

  1. Ok, I just had Italian and this has my stomach growling over here! I like wine, I just dont know what the good stuff is and always been curious about picking out wines for cooking. I didnt know there was a specific kind of cooking wine though-where do you find that at the store?

    • simplyshaka – You can find red, white, and even sherry cooking wine… I found it around the vinegars in a regular grocery store. šŸ™‚ Basically, cooking wine is wine with salt added. So you wouldn’t be able to drink cooking wine from the bottle – it’s too salty. Cooking wines are probably available even in dry counties. I don’t cook with wine that often but the few recipes I’ve tried, I’ve used Holland House brand with great results. Ooooh, according to the website they have marsala — I haven’t seen that in the store I frequent.

      Make sure you do not get red/white wine vinegar… that’s not the same thing. šŸ™‚ Good luck!

  2. Pingback: Stir-fry, Oh How I Love Thee… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

