Playing With Collages…

I thought I’d do a little playing around with putting recent pictures into a collage.

Now let me say upfront that this family is a Linux family through and through… But I have been unable to find an easy way to do the collage in GIMP. Sure it is possible, but it takes some work. My blogger friend, Tiffany, suggested I try Picasa.

It just so happens that we have one mini laptop that is running Windows (seriously ALL the other computers in the house are running Fedora or Red Hat Linux). Anyway, that laptop also has Picasa on it, so I thought I’d give it a try.

I still did all my manipulation (cropping, etc.) of the pictures in GIMP (Gnu Image Manipulation Program for Linux). Then I put the images on a thumbdrive and used sneakernet to transfer them to the Windows system.

It took me a few tries before I liked the collage that Picasa made for me. I’m used to a lot more control in GIMP. But I was able to get something worth saving. I’m still on the prowl for something like this in GIMP, I much prefer being in control.

Anyway, hope you enjoy.

Until next time…
~nic

Leave a Reply

