Oldie But A Goodie…


It has been brought to my attention that there hasn’t been much food on my blog lately. To be honest, food around here hasn’t been that blog worthy. Either I’m making something simple (like spaghetti) or I’m making something I’ve blogged about before. The food has been good, don’t get me wrong, I just haven’t been inspired to talk about what we are eating.

Not to mention that in the three months since Little-bit passed away, things have been strange around here. We went on two business trips back to back, we moved, and then I started taking photography classes. Food hasn’t been the main thing on my mind lately. But I do miss getting creative in the kitchen (I’ve been in kind of a rut the last few months), and also I miss the food posts.

Last night, I made a dish that I really love, but somehow don’t make very often. It’s easy and doesn’t take very long to make, so I’m not sure why it hasn’t become a go-to dish like spaghetti (get the feeling we’ve been having spaghetti a lot lately?).

Nevertheless, it is an awesome dish and I wanted to bring it to your attention again. Again? Yep, I’ve blogged about it before. Only this time I added a few extra veggies to the Chickpea Stew. Check out the recipe here.

This time I used a slightly different couscous (roasted garlic & olive oil, instead of plain). And to the stew, I added celery, carrots, and red bell pepper. I also added a few extra dashes of cumin, because I think that really makes this dish stand out.

As always, taste the broth while cooking, when the broth tastes good, the whole soup/stew will be good. Speaking of tasting the broth, I taste constantly while cooking and then when I think I’ve got it, I have my taste-tester taste the broth. Last night, his eyes practically rolled in the back of his head. “So it’s good?”, I asked. “Oh, yeah! That’s awesome.”, he says. Hmmm, I’m starting to think that he’s been missing my creativity in the kitchen too. Noted.

This weekend my taste-tester and I are celebrating 19 years together! So, obviously I needed to make some kind of chocolate. I had a box of Chuao Spicy Maya brownie mix in the pantry. I used a flaxseed mixture as a substitute for the eggs (I’ve blogged about this before, as well). Delicious! Happy Anniversary, Honey! 🙂

In other news, my taste-tester brought this to my attention last night, Vegan Black Metal Chef. If you get the chance, check out the videos. They are awesome!

Until next time…
~nic

Leave a Reply

