Playing With Color…

Today I was playing around with converting my images to black and white. As it turns out, there are a number of ways to convert your photos. Each one has little nuances that make each picture slightly different. What works on one might not work as well on another. So it’s good to have a few choices in your bag of tricks. While practicing various techniques, I came across the idea of returning the color to parts of your photo.

I had loads of fun, and thought I’d share a photo that I took for class but ended up not using for my assignment.

My assignment was to capture blur motion, I found this lifeguard hut with the flags pretty cool. Today, I converted it to black and white using the new techniques I learned. Then I pulled out the color of the flag, and then the surf board. It was a fun learning experience. πŸ™‚

Until next time…
~nic

4 thoughts on “Playing With Color…

  1. I love the last pic! Thanks for sharing the link on how to do it, do you need a specific kind of program to do that on?

    I went to lunch with one of my photographer friends yesterday and she was giving me all kinds of tips on b&w.

    • simplyshaka – Thanks! I run Linux on my computer so my photo manipulation software is GIMP. If you run windows or mac, you can do it in photoshop. πŸ™‚ I’m sure there are other programs out there that can do it too. πŸ™‚

  2. Nice tutorial, Nic! I found a comment from you on my blog and came to take a look at yours. I’m enjoying your writing! Are you in the D.C. area like me? I thought maybe you were because you mentioned “D.C. to California” in a posting.

Leave a Reply

