Safari Park, Part I: Flora and Birds…


This past weekend while working on my homework for my photography class we went to various places so that I could have many subjects to consider. One of those places was the San Diego Safari Park, I thought I’d share some of the pictures I was able to take interspersed with my attempts to capture pictures for my class. As I mentioned before, I was getting frustrated with myself trying to get the shots for my homework and my taste-tester was trying his best to give me every opportunity to be able to take photos.

I love elephants, and have since I was quite young. So the elephants were first and foremost on my list of things I wanted to see at the Safari Park. But we had to walk to that area, so I took photos prior to getting there. Some of them were attempts for class. You will see a myriad of flora and fauna from that visit, ranging from elephants (of course) to eagles to hummingbirds to rhinos to strange plants. I hope you enjoy. 🙂

First up, the plants. I don’t know why but ever since we’ve moved to San Diego we’ve been in awe of the flora. Here are some more of the interesting plants around here…

Next, the birds. I don’t know what it is lately, perhaps the book I’m reading (Birdology by Sy Montgomery), but I’ve got this fascination with birds. I’m loving the hummingbirds that come to visit me on my balcony. When I was in my youth, I worked at a pet store that had big birds (Macaws, Eclectus Parrots, Sun Conures, etc). I also had a cockatiel as a pet. I like birds… ducks, swans, geese… yep, I’m intrigued.

I especially like the photos of the duck feet (I think they are ducks, maybe they are geese?) and the flamingos running. But the red-green-blue parrots and the green-red parrots trying to get my attention was pretty awesome too. 🙂

Wow, we are already up to 12 photos. Heh. So this is going to be a multi-part-post, so that you don’t feel like you are swimming in photos. 🙂

Until next time…
~nic

Leave a Reply

