Easy Tortilla Bake…


It’s been awhile since I’ve posted a recipe. Upon our return from our business trip, we were seriously craving ‘home’ food, as in, food that isn’t take-out or solely a microwavable dish. I had four corn tortillas left in the refrigerator from our cinco de mayo meal prior to our trip. I wanted to use them up before their expiration date. I came up with a very easy dish, that tastes amazing.

I present, Easy Tortilla Bake…

For my friends out there who are shy of recipes that require a lot of ingredients or lots of chopping, this recipe is for you. 😉 There are only 5 ingredients and there is no chopping required. For the side dish, I made a microwavable rice that I found in the freezer section.


Easy Tortilla Bake
yield: 2 – 4 servings

    ☀ 4 corn tortillas
    ☀ 1 can refried beans (I used Amy’s – Mild w/ Green Chilies)
    ☀ frozen corn
    ☀ El Pato jalapeno salsa (or your favorite enchilada sauce)
    ☀ sliced black olives, small can
    ☀ your favorite Tex-Mex or Spanish rice, optional (I used Rice Expressions)
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Pour a small amount of enchilada sauce in the bottom of a oven safe pan.
  3. Place one corn tortilla on the sauce, top with 1/3 of a can of refried beans, a handful of frozen corn and a few spoonfuls of enchilada sauce.
  4. Top with a corn tortilla and repeat, until you place the last corn tortilla.
  5. Pour the remainder of the enchilada sauce over the pile of goodness, making sure that you cover the corn tortillas.
  6. Top with black olives, I used the whole can (we really like olives).

  7. Bake in the oven until heated through, about 45 minutes. (I put a thermometer in the middle and waited until it read 150°F)

  8. If using, cook rice according to the package directions.

I served mine by cutting the tortilla bake into fourths, then added some rice and blue corn chips on the side. *For the leftovers, I poured another can of enchilada sauce over the tortilla bake and microwaved it – it was saucy and spicy… delicious!

Until next time…
~nic

2 thoughts on “Easy Tortilla Bake…

  1. Ole for Mexican food! I thought that was meat in the first picture and was like “Wow, either I haven’t read in forever and she isn’t vegan anymore or it’s something that looks like meat” Guess it’s the latter 🙂 I love anything with refried beans and if it’s refried beans paired with a quick cooking time, I’m on it like white on rice! Or should I say black on beans?

    • simplyshaka – I’m not sure what part looked like meat, perhaps the corn tortilla that didn’t quite cut cleanly? In any case, nope no meat for us. 🙂 In fact, the business trip made me want to be vegan even more than before, my body really doesn’t like dairy much. It was good to be home and cook for myself again. 🙂

      I had thought that this would cook quickly, but oddly it took 45 minutes to heat through. Perhaps a higher oven temp would make it cook faster, but I decided to let it take it’s time and have the flavors meld together.

Leave a Reply

