Happy Cinco de Mayo!…

The meal I made tonight is messy (I wouldn’t wear your best suit while eating it, make sure you have a napkin handy), time consuming (although most of that is non-active time), and uses almost every dish and appliance in the house (my kitchen is a mess now), but it is so worth it! πŸ™‚ I wouldn’t make this everyday, but it sure is great for a special occasion.

Unfortunately, I cannot give out specific details about the actual recipe because I followed it almost to a T from Veganomicon. So if you have that cookbook or have it on your wish list, then you’ll want to make this dish. Otherwise, I guess you’ll have to go to the library or borrow the cookbook from a friend. πŸ˜›

I made the Baja-style Grilled Tempeh Tacos, I’ve made this dish twice before, and each time I make it I figure it out a little bit better. Sometimes you don’t always understand why the recipe has you do certain things until the next time you make it. So I can impart some knowledge that occurred to me tonight as I prepared this meal.

  1. Start the water boiling early, if not first thing, so that it is ready when you are ready to boil the tempeh.
  2. When preparing the lime creme, go ahead and use the two Tbsp. of oil, and blend it to whip air into it. Make sure that you do refrigerate it for the hour suggested. I used to make the lime creme without oil and used it right away, it was more of a drizzling consistency. Tonight when I realized that I was supposed to refrigerate it for an hour, it also occurred to me that using the oil would give it a mouth feel and allow me to whip it up a bit, so that it is more the consistency of mayo or sour cream.
  3. Something I’ve always done, but it bears repeating, once you have finished using the marinade, put it in a pot and allow it to reduce while you grill the tempeh.
  4. Put the corn tortillas in some tin foil and place it in a 200°F oven while you grill the tempeh, that way the tortillas are nice and warm when you are ready to eat!
  5. I didn’t have peanut oil on hand, but since I used grapeseed oil in the lime creme, I used that on the grill as well. Grapeseed oil has a high smoke point.
  6. And lastly, I would like to impart the wisdom of taking cubed avocado and mixing it with the juice of 1/2 a lime, it will stay green longer (possibly even overnight) and adds another layer of lime to the meal.

Picture time!

We each ate three of those tacos! And I have a little less than half of the tempeh left for leftovers, and plenty of the toppings left. The slaw should be even better the next day! πŸ™‚

Until next time…
~nic

One thought on “Happy Cinco de Mayo!…

  1. Pingback: Easy Tortilla Bake… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

