Family Tradition…


Floofy - we miss you! (May 3, 1994 - Feb 15, 2008)

Many of you may remember that May 3rd is Floofy’s birthday. I thought all day about what I should post. And I decided to let you all in on a little secret. Well, it’s not really a secret, it’s more of a little thing we do to remember our little pup. For the past three years, on his birthday, we have what we have dubbed Floofy’s Special. We actually call it by his real name not his nickname, but you get the idea. Anyway, on his birthday we have a particular meal.

It all started during the last week we spent with him before he passed away. I had made tomato soup with grilled cheese sandwiches. We knew he had cancer at that point and so even though we had not let him have people food for most of his life, we started letting him try new things (He was a big fan of granny smith apples!). My taste-tester gave Floofy some of his grilled cheese sandwich, while I recorded it on my camera. Floofy loved that grilled cheese! And I was able to capture a few photos of his tongue out really far in delight!

In the months after Floofy passed away, we would have tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches in remembrance and for comfort. And so as the years went by, if we were in need of comfort, I’d make this meal. We became vegans about a year after he passed away, and so the meal morphed into tomato soup and garlic bread. We had this meal tonight, it is now a family tradition.

Little-bit passed away about two months ago, life is much different now without our boys. I haven’t come up with a suitable Little-bit’s Special, but I’m fairly certain it will contain rice, perhaps even carrots. In the weeks after Little-bit passed away, I made banana cake, (which I started making him for his birthday) maybe that will be Little-bit’s Special. Our boys were our life, we miss them so much!

Until next time…
~nic

5 thoughts on “Family Tradition…

  1. That’s a sweet tradition you’ve started, I really dig it.

    Thanks for sharing and being open about Floofy (What an adorable puppy pic!!) and Little Bit. I can’t believe it’s two months 😦

    PS-my frugal friday post this wk will be on couponing per your request!

    • simplyshaka – Thanks! 🙂 I can’t believe it’s been two months either 😦 It’s been a strange time. I would not have been able to go on the business trip had Little-bit been around, yet on the plane ride home I commented to my taste-tester that it was strange to realize that he wasn’t at home waiting for us.

      I look forward to reading this Friday’s post! 🙂

  2. Awww. We lost our 16-year-old dog more than six years ago and every year on his birthday we go to the tree we bought in his honor at the Humane Society 🙂
    (That’s just one of our animal things, so I can totally relate to this post and love it.) Happy Birthday to your furry babies, and may you find comfort in the memories!

    • Abby – A tree at the Humane Society sounds like a great idea!

      I do find comfort in the memories, I’m glad that I was able to capture so many good moments on my camera. Others are etched into my mind, like the first time I gave the boys french fries, heehee! Floofy had the fries halfway hanging out of his mouth and had an expression on his face that was priceless, ‘These are sooo good!’. We laugh about that day often. Floofy was nearly 14 years old when he passed away, and about 3 years later, Little-bit passed away at 15 years old. It was a great 17 years, full of Basset Hound shenanigans. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Memories of Birthdays Past… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

