Gateway to the West…


It’s been a little while since I’ve posted. We successfully moved our stuff to our new apartment, we pretty much put it all in place, and then we had to leave town for a business trip! It’s been a strange couple of weeks.

Just days before we were to leave for St. Louis, a tornado hit the airport there! Eep! The airport opened just 24 hours later! Which is amazing! During our flight, we ended up hanging out in San Antonio for several hours because of a tornado in Dallas. Then just days after getting here, the tornadoes hit Alabama and other southern states! Luckily we’ve managed to stay out of harm’s way, but wow what a treacherous time of year it is!

It’s been mostly grey here this week, the sun decided to pop it’s head out on Friday, so I headed to the famous Arch, with my camera. The Arch is the ‘Gateway to the West’. There is a museum under The Arch. There is also a tram that goes to the top of The Arch, but I did not ride it, I’m hoping to get to ride it soon, but we will see.

Anyway, I, in usual form, took several pictures of the wildlife as well as The Arch. I saw a neat looking bird that is mostly black but had a red and yellow spot on it’s wings, I saw a bunny, I saw a squirrel (who was too quick for a picture), and I saw a goose. Hope you enjoy! 🙂

Until next time…
~nic

5 thoughts on “Gateway to the West…

  1. Wow, I’m glad you all are safe and stayed out of the tornadoes!

    I’ve never been to St Louis but it’s on my list (solely for the Arch and the beer)

    • simplyshaka – The people seem really friendly there. The Arch was pretty cool, but I don’t see myself needing to visit it very often. I don’t drink, but I am curious about the Anheuser-Busch tour (mostly to see the Clydesdales). Maybe next time I’m there, I’ll get to go on the tour. 🙂

  2. We had wondered why the silence. Glad you are safe. Beautiful photos my brother went to school there and I understand the summer can be tough. Keep cool .

    • Susan and Greta – I think my wording was hard to follow… the business trip was to St. Louis. 🙂 We still live in San Diego, we just moved to another apartment there. 🙂

      The move was entangled with the knowledge of the business trip right after, which made the whole thing very time consuming. It was nice to just relax once we got to St. Louis. Although, my taste-tester didn’t really get to relax because he had to work, but at least he was no longer hefting heavy boxes up three flights of stairs. 🙂

      Squeeze Greta for me, I miss her excited bark! 🙂

Leave a Reply

