Clean-up Night X 2…


I had some random produce that I needed to use up soon…

Last night, I made stir-fry… this is a great way to use up produce when you have odds and ends… And tonight I made baked potatoes with some interesting toppings… Luckily both turned out great. I love it when I put flavors together and it works out. 🙂

Stir-Fry
I had some tempeh and decided to take a page from Veganomicon and marinated the tempeh while I prepared the veggies…

tempeh, cut into bite-size pieces
3/4 cup water
2 Tbsp. toasted sesame oil
2 Tbsp. aji-mirin
2 Tbsp. tamari
juice of a lime (or 2 small ones)
several dashes of ground ginger
several dashes of garlic powder


Combine all the liquids, add the tempeh and bring to a boil. Turn off heat and let marinate, covered.

I made brown jasmine rice, which takes 50 minutes… I had that cooking on the back burner.


Meanwhile, stir-fry your veggies, starting with your aromatics (onion, garlic, etc.), then your longest cooking veggies first, then working your way to your shortest cooking veggies…

I used (in the order I put them in the pan):

shallots
garlic
salt and pepper
carrots
celery
red bell peppers
frozen broccoli
mushrooms
crushed red chili peppers
kale

For the kale, I coarsely chopped it, then I put it on top of the veggies, covered and let it steam until it was a bright green… just a few minutes. Then I stirred to combine.

Next I drained the tempeh, saving the marinade, and added the tempeh to the stir-fry.

I poured about 1/2 the marinade into the pan along with some sweet & tangy sauce, and adjusted my seasonings.

I reduced the rest of the marinade by putting it back in the sauce pan and letting it simmer while I made a pot of tea… about 6 minutes.

I served the stir-fry over the rice and topped it off with peanuts. The reduced marinade and the sweet & tangy sauce were nearby if anyone wanted to add more to their dish.


Baked Potato

Tonight’s meal was a bit more adventurous… I had odds and ends left… so I got creative…

First I scrubbed two russet potatoes, pierced them with a fork and put them in the microwave for ‘1 baked potato’ amount of time (about 3 minutes, I think). Then I put them on tin foil and drizzled some olive oil over them and spread it around the best I could without burning myself… and then added a pinch of salt. I baked them in a 400°F oven for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, I sliced an onion, placed it in a microwave-safe dish, drizzled it with olive oil, salt and pepper, and then microwaved it for 3 minutes (2 minutes, stir, then 1 minute more). I deseeded and chopped a tomato, cut several baby carrots into matchsticks, heated some black beans, and heated some frozen corn. Then I opened up cans of black olives and el pato jalapeno salsa.

Then I put it all together… cut open the baked potato, added soy garden (margarine), pepper, and chipotle chili powder (remember, salt is on the skin). Then I topped it off with all the ingredients; black beans, corn, onions, carrots, tomatoes, and black olives. Then I drizzled el pato over the top. Then we realized we needed corn tortillas on the side. 😉


Fabulous!

Until next time…
~nic

3 thoughts on “Clean-up Night X 2…

  1. Pingback: Calzone Lovin’… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

