I ♥ Movies…

Time to tackle another question on the 30-day writing challenge

Day 24 – Your favorite movie and what it’s about.

I have many movies that would qualify as my ‘favorite’… but the two that I would have to put at the top of the list are La Femme Nikita and The Saint. I’m going to ramble on about La Femme Nikita…

I think I probably saw the TV show first and then came across the original movie (French) and then the American remake (Point of No Return). I personally like the French version over the American version and the TV show the most (the 1997 series).

For me, I think what resonates, is that the story is about becoming a new person and realizing you are stronger than you think you are. Plus I really like how Peta Wilson’s version gets to dress up into different characters and knows all kinds of languages. There is so much more to it than that, but it is hard to put into words. I somehow identify with Nikita and that’s why I love the story (and now you know why I have an affinity for the name Nikita).


I like spy movies which is why I also would put The Saint on the top of my favorite list… I think it has a lot to do with the secret identity and the languages part, but the action and story lines in these shows really entertains me. And yes, I am aware that The Saint is more of a thief movie, but I’m putting it under the genre of spy movies. 😉




I like so many movies and genres, here is just a sampling…

Spy moviesThe Saint, The Bourne Identity Trilogy

Comedy – especially ones with Steve Martin, John Candy or Jim Carrey; The Jerk, Liar Liar, Planes, Trains & Automobiles, LA Story, Uncle Buck, The Princess Bride

Historical movies – like Letters from Iwo Jima/Flags of Our Fathers and Mongol: The Rise of Genghis Khan

Movies that frak with your mind and/or make you thinkVanilla Sky, The Final Cut, Inception, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, 12 Monkeys, Blade Runner

Movies with certain actorsJohnny Depp, Keanu Reeves, Bruce Willis; Chocolat, Benny & Joon, The Matrix Trilogy, 5th Element

Movies by certain directorsTim Burton, M. Night Shyamalan; Sleepy Hollow, The Nightmare Before Christmas, Sweeny Todd, Edward Scissorhands, Mars Attacks!, The Sixth Sense, Unbreakable

Movies made from books – like the Harry Potter Septology and the Lord of the Rings Trilogy

Wow… I could go on and on for days… but I won’t. I didn’t realize how many movies I adore. 🙂


Qs:

  1. What’s your favorite movie?
  2. What movie genre do you like?

Until next time…
~nic

3 thoughts on “I ♥ Movies…

  1. I’ve never seen either of those two movies. I hear the Saint is really good from a few different people. Comedy’s are by far my favorite—I too love Steve Martin. I like stuff with Chevy Chase as well (so yeah, 3 Amigos was wonderful!) and love love love anything by the Farrely brothers. Some of my favorites are Theres Something About Mary, Animal House, Goodfellas and….well, thats all I can think of right now.

    I like Vanilla Sky, I watch it over and over again but still dont get it. I need to watch Eternal Sunshine again, I only saw it once when it came out on dvd and really liked it.

    • simplyshaka – Oh yeah! I forgot about Chevy Chase! Love his movies too! The vacation movies… haha. And the Farrely Brothers, too… good stuff. I haven’t seen Goodfellas… I’ll have to see if I can find it to rent.

      I like movies like Vanilla Sky that totally frak with your mind… you are left asking all kinds of questions… but not because the plot had holes, but because it makes you think.

Leave a Reply

