The Old, The New, and The Geek…

It’s the third day of the 30-day writing challenge… and I’ve decided to make it my own. If there was anything to be learned from yesterday’s post it was, be flexible and live in the present.

The next few days on the challenge are pretty heavy… and I’m wanting to write about something a bit more fun. Plus, there’s nothing like a little mystery… so now you will just have to see which topic I write about because it won’t be in order. I am chaos, hear me roar!

Because I’m insanely organized (or just insane)… you will find a new page on my blog entitled, “30-day Writing Challenge” to help you (and me) keep up with what has been answered, and what still needs to be answered. 🙂

It’s been in the news lately that the zodiac signs we grew up with have been changed due to changes in the Earth’s alignment. So I thought it would be fun to explore my old sign, my new sign… and my geek sign. Plus I also wanted to look at my Chinese zodiac. And see just how close they are to my personality. 🙂

Day 7: Your zodiac sign and if you think it fits your personality.

My birthday is January 2, according to the zodiac table of yore… I’m a Capricorn…

Practical and prudent
Ambitious and disciplined
Patient and careful
Humorous and reserved

On the dark side….

Pessimistic and fatalistic
Miserly and grudging 1


I’d say this is a pretty good assessment. I love how the website goes on to say that Capricorns are “independent, rocklike characters… They are normally confident, strong willed and calm. These hardworking, unemotional, shrewd, practical, responsible, persevering, and cautious to the extreme persons, are capable of persisting for as long as is necessary to accomplish a goal they have set for themselves”. Although, I’d have to disagree on the unemotional part… I’m so emotional, I wear my heart on my sleeve. We also know that confidence is not my strong suit. But, yeah… pretty damn close.

According to the new zodiac signs… I’m a Sagittarius…

Optimistic and freedom-loving
Jovial and good-humored
Honest and straightforward
Intellectual and philosophical

On the dark side….

Blindly optimistic and careless
Irresponsible and superficial
Tactless and restless 2

The website goes on to say, “Sagittarians have a positive outlook on life, are full of enterprise, energy, versatility, adventurousness and eagerness to extend experience beyond the physically familiar. They enjoy travelling and exploration, the more so because their minds are constantly open to new dimensions of thought. They are basically ambitious and optimistic, and continue to be so even when their hopes are dashed. Their strongly idealistic natures can also suffer many disappointments without being affected. They are honorable, honest, trustworthy, truthful, generous and sincere, with a passion for justice. They are usually on the side of the underdog in society they will fight for any cause they believe to be just, and are prepared to be rebellious. They balance loyalty with independence.”

Hmmm… I don’t agree with the irresponsible, superficial, tactless, restless, careless, and blindly optimistic. I do think the positive aspects could describe me though.

Now I’m wondering… can I see myself in all signs? 😉

I was born in 1972… but the second day of January… so for the lunar calendar I go by the year 1971… which makes me a boar, not a rat 3… (my taste-tester would be a rat, because he was born after the lunar new year)…

Honest, gallant, sturdy, sociable, peace-loving, patient, loyal, hard-working, trusting, sincere, calm, understanding, thoughtful, scrupulous, passionate, intelligent. Can be naïve, over-reliant, self-indulgent, gullible, fatalistic, materialistic.4

Ok… sure, I’d agree with this one too… except, I don’t think I’m materialistic. Or self-indulgent. Or gallant. But yeah, I’m scrupulous and I can be naïve, too. Pretty good assessment.

Ready to have some fun?

According to my Geek Zodiac

    ☀ Jan. 20-Feb. 18 – Libervermis (The Bookworm). Characteristics: Knowledgeable, kind, slightly out of touch with reality

    ☀ Feb. 19-Mar. 20 – Draco (The Dragon). Characteristics: Passionate, scaly, fond of treasure

    ☀ Mar. 21-Apr. 19 – Magus (The Wizard). Characteristics: Magical, wise, may shoot fireballs

    ☀ Apr. 20-May 20 – Bellatorius (The Warrior). Characteristics: Powerful, hot-tempered, may inadvertently crush things

    ☀ May 21-Jun. 20 – Sacerdos (The Priest). Characteristics: Serene, introspective, prone to chanting

    ☀ Jun. 21-Jul. 22 – Spectaculus (The Four-Eyes). Characteristics: Intelligent, squinty, avoids full-contact sports

    ☀ Jul. 23-Aug. 22 – Ewokius (The Ewok). Characteristics: Cuddly, chirpy, may annoy others

    ☀ Aug. 23-Sep. 22 – Scientiatus (The Scientist). Characteristics: Skeptical, analytical, fond of beakers

    ☀ Sep. 23-Oct. 22 – Monstrum (The Orc). Characteristics: Angry, smelly, proficient with weapons

    ☀ Oct. 23-Nov. 21 – Ordinatio (The Organizer). Characteristics: Orderly, disciplined, fond of spreadsheets

    ☀ Nov. 22-Dec. 21 – Tribblius (The Tribble). Characteristics: Gentle, fertile, must avoid Klingons

    ☀ Dec. 22-Jan. 19 – Machinatus (The Gadgeteer). Characteristics: Quick-witted, quick thumbed, perpetually preoccupied

I’m a Machinatus (The Gadgeteer). Characteristics: Quick-witted, quick thumbed, perpetually preoccupied. Hmmm… actually I’d be more inclined to say that I’m a Ordinatio (The Organizer). Characteristics: Orderly, disciplined, fond of spreadsheets. I’m very much into spreadsheets. 🙂

Ok… I need to get back to taking care of Little-bit… he says he’s been waiting long enough.

Until next time…
~nic

1 astrology online: Capricorn
2 astrology online: Sagittarius
3 pictures of Chinese zodiac animals
4 Characteristics of Chinese zodiac animals

2 thoughts on “The Old, The New, and The Geek…

  1. I love the “I am chaos, hear me roar!” haha. I am a Sagittarius and fit the bill for the description. I’m supposed to be whatever the new sign is that they threw in and I don’t even know how to describe it, that’s not a good sign.

    • simplyshaka – I think you are supposed to be a… oh… Ophiuchus… whatever the heck that is. Yeah, they came up with that 13th one. Did they do a personality profile on that zodiac sign yet? Kinda sucks when you are just stuck in some kind of zodiac void. 😐

      p.s. the comment for the previous reply showed up on my blog… are you getting the emails? (I sent the other one bcc… this one I sent cc)

Leave a Reply

