Veganized Bites: Exploded Enchiladas…


So what should I call this? Corn Tortilla Bake… Mexican Lasagna… or my personal favorite (my taste-tester’s description of the taste), Exploded Enchiladas

Whatever you want to call it, I’m sure you will call it awesome! 🙂

It all started a few weeks ago, I was at Whole Foods and was drawn to the hot food bar by an intoxicating smell. I went around sniffing and looking until I found the source of that wonderful aroma. It was some kind of corn tortilla bake with beans and cheese. The smell was just amazing… I stood there for some time trying to decide… should I get it? It has cheese on it… but it smells so good. You could get it and then replicate it later, vegan. I was hungry, and I was willing. Luckily there wasn’t much cheese in it at all. I went ahead and got the last square of tortilla bake and brought it home to share with my taste tester.

I took a bite and decided it needed just a bit more of something… so, I got out bean and corn salsa and poured it on top. Ahh… nice. I concentrated on the structure of the dish… sure the smell of the spices and the beans drew me to it, as did the smell of the corn tortilla… but I wanted to figure out how they made it. Normally, in an enchilada, you don’t get much of the corn tortilla, and I was intrigued by the abundance of corn tortilla. I made a mental note, so that I could try to replicate it later.

With the discovery of the El Pato, I knew I had to try to make the corn tortilla bake… and I had some ideas. And I wanted to play with my camera…

Onions and Peppers

olive oil
1 onion
2 red bell peppers
3-4 cloves garlic
salt, pepper, chili powder, cumin, coriander

Exploded Enchiladas

el pato (salsa de jalapeño)
corn tortillas
refried beans
black beans
onions and peppers
frozen corn

bake 350°F for 15-20 min

Spanish Rice

rice a roni – spanish rice
soy garden (margarine)
diced tomatoes
water

Avocado Salad

tomato
avocado
lime
chili powder

Put It All Together

romaine lettuce
black olives
exploded enchiladas
avocado salad
spanish rice

Awesome!

Until next time…
~nic

5 thoughts on “Veganized Bites: Exploded Enchiladas…

  1. Awesome indeed! I just had a big breakfast and I’m sitting here with my mouth wide open and smiling b//c it looks fantastic. Plus who doens’t like something called Exploded Enchiladas?? That’s a very powerful name! I love the mini pictures as well, looks like it turned out great and that it was a filling meal.

    Silly question-what kind of flavor does coriander bring to the table? I’ve never bought it before but figured I’d have to tried it in the past.

    • simplyshaka – coriander is the seed of cilantro. To me, it’s just one of those spices I add to my Mexican dishes to give it more depth of flavor (generally cumin, chili powder, and coriander).

      I just tried it straight… it’s hard to describe… it doesn’t taste like cilantro… it is slightly spicy (but not hot), slightly lime-ish… it actually reminds me a bit of Indian food. I use it all the time. Hope that helps. 🙂

  2. enchiladas are truly one of my favorite meals to make and I often make it a layered dish. I love that you used two beans and corn. I am thinking that I will need to make this soon 🙂

    • plamarie – I love adding corn to bean dishes… it adds an element of sweet. This worked out great with the caramelized onions and the sweet corn, the lime and the creamy avocado from the avocado salad, and the spicy-hot from the El Pato… the flavor combo was perfect. 🙂

  3. Pingback: A little glimpse into my personality… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

