Stir-Fry Rice Noodles…


I’m still playing in the kitchen, allowing my wants and cravings drive my creativity. Last night I created something that was quite good, very good even. There are a few things I would change in the future, but overall, not too shabby.

My creativity started here… stir-fry rice noodles and soy bean sprouts…

Which then led me to this… leftover veggies (celery, cucumber, green onions, red bell pepper), kale, carrots, red onion, garlic, mushrooms… plus smoked baked tofu (garlic teriyaki), soy ginger sauce, hoisin sauce, and aji-mirin (not pictured)…

Then to this… seasoned with salt, pepper, soy ginger sauce, and hoisin sauce…

I cooked the noodles according to the package directions, then added aji-mirin, soy ginger sauce, and hoisin sauce…

I left the soy bean sprouts, green onion, and cucumber raw… for the topping…

Voila! Dinner…

Served with green tea…

Things I would change…

☀ I wasn’t particularly thrilled with the taste of the soy bean sprouts… they were really strong and took away from the over all dish. Maybe mung bean sprouts are different from soy bean sprouts… or maybe mine were in the fridge too long… either way, they weren’t sweet like on a Pad Thai, they were strong and earthy… not what I was in the mood for, I picked mine off. My taste-tester seemed content to leave his on. πŸ™‚

☀ I was thinking that a spritz of lime juice would have been a nice finishing touch, wish I would have had one on hand.

But overall, very good, indeed. πŸ™‚

I’m not very good at preparing my own tofu, plus I’m a fryaphobe (don’t want to get burned nor do I like the house smelling like frying oil)… but this smoked baked tofu is awesome! πŸ™‚

Until next time…
~nic

4 thoughts on “Stir-Fry Rice Noodles…

  1. I miss having a WF near me. What exactly is aji-mirin sauce?

    That baked tofu looks interesting. I want to try the Aloha one, I will have to see if they have them anywhere in my hood.

Leave a Reply

