El Pato…


Continuing my theme of going into the kitchen and asking myself what I want…

I decided that I wanted to try a sauce called El Pato. I was first introduced to the idea of El Pato from my blogger friend at Simply Shaka. She used it on enchiladas. The next time I went to the store I made sure to look for it, and actually found it!

But what to put the sauce on? I thought of my southwest inspired baked potato and thought that would probably go well with the sauce. Next I checked out the veggies I had in the fridge… and then started creating…

For the potatoes, I pierced them with a fork, then I popped them in the microwave and cooked them for the duration of one baked potato (~5 min). Then I put some canola oil on them along with a sprinkling of salt. And then cooked them in a 400°F oven for 30 minutes while I prepared the rest of the veggies.

I had an onion, red bell pepper, mushrooms, and garlic… which I sauteed in olive oil and seasoned with salt, pepper, thyme, and savory. I pushed the onion mixture to the side and sauteed some roughly chopped kale in olive oil…

Before I opened the can of El Pato… I was unsure if the ingredients had turned to a more Italian flare… mostly because of the mushrooms. My taste-tester was home by this time and so I asked him to smell the sauteed veggies… he said it could go either way, Mexican or Italian… and that maybe I should taste the El Pato and decide. So I opened the El Pato, gave it a taste and was convinced that it would indeed go well with the dinner I was creating.

El Pato has a more tomato flavor than I expected. It’s not exactly the taste of a salsa like I was expecting… it’s more like tomato sauce with a kick (my taste-tester said it tasted like enchilada sauce)… which worked perfectly for these veggies over the potato…

Once the potato was done, I cut it open and added some soy garden (margarine), black pepper, and chipotle chili powder…

Then I topped that with some black beans and el pato…

And on top of that, I added sauteed kale and the onion mixture…

I brought the el pato to the table, and we both added just a bit more of this yummy sauce. Delicious! 🙂

The next night…

I was all out of potatoes, but I did have some leftover taco shells

I reheated some leftovers and sauteed some extra kale to add to the onion mix. I drained the black beans and added salt, black pepper, and chipotle chili powder.

I had originally intended to make brown jasmine rice, but I didn’t want to wait an hour, especially when everything else was only going to take minutes to prepare. So instead I made minute rice, with a twist. I added several spoonfuls of El Pato to the water for the minute rice to make a super easy Spanish rice.

I took the taco shell, added the black beans then topped with the kale mixture, el pato, and green onions; and served it with the Spanish rice…

Delicious! 🙂

This is why I love reading food blogs… I would never have even known about El Pato and now it will be part of my repertoire. Thanks Simply Shaka! 🙂

Until next time…
~nic

6 thoughts on “El Pato…

  1. I’m happy to see that you liked! It is more like an enchilada sauce as opposed to salsa and they also have it in a yellow can which I believe is milder. I would have never thought to add all of that onto a baked potato, I will have to try that sometime. I like how the potatoes look like monster potatoes as well!

    • simplyshaka – I think I probably started adding all kinds of things to my baked potatoes after a love affair with Jason’s Deli… once I went vegetarian, there weren’t many options left, maybe the Plain Jane? Hrumph… and so I set out making my own variations. 🙂 Unfortunately, Jason’s Deli’s baked potato options kept getting smaller and smaller… now it looks like they only have 4 varieties… but back in the day, it seemed like the whole menu was potatoes with a small selection of sandwiches… oh, well.

      We really liked the spiciness of the El Pato green can… it wasn’t too hot, it was just right!

  2. I love when leftover get recreated into other meals. I hate to waste food and love to get creative. I have been wanting to make baked potatoes for a while now and really like the toppings on yours. 😉 plus, I think I need to get my hands on some of the El Pato sauce!

  3. Pingback: What made me smile today…..and some bad dates « Simply Shaka

  4. Pingback: Clean-up Night X 2… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

