I’ve Come A Long Way, Baby…


Many moons ago, my taste-tester and I were in a restaurant called Souper Salad… it’s basically a buffet-style soup and salad place, much like Souplantation. We were new vegetarians and I still had an aversion to beans. Saying the word like it was a curse word.

My salads back then left much to be desired as well, since I was only just exploring out past iceberg lettuce. My salads had the usual suspects, iceberg, smidge of mixed greens, grated carrots, cucumbers, cheese, ranch dressing, etc… the typical house salad you’d get at any restaurant.

Meanwhile, my taste-tester’s salad was full of adventure… his had mixed greens (completely avoiding iceberg), olives, garbanzo beans, balsamic vinaigrette…

“You’re putting beans on your salad?!”, I exclaimed. “Cold beans?!”

Luckily my taste-tester was not deterred from his adventuresome eating and continued to put interesting things on his salad. After all, we were in a place that had all these options that we didn’t have at home for salad. Why not?

Yesterday (and today), when I was packing up my taste-tester’s lunch, I made him a salad. This salad has chickpeas (garbanzo beans) on it… and it reminded me of all those years ago when I couldn’t fathom a salad with beans on it.

I am reminded that my taste-tester’s adventuresome spirit with food and flavor combinations is why I am able to create and have fun in the kitchen today. We’ve come a long way in our eating repertoire in the last decade.

But when I think about it… I’ve come a long way… not only do I love fresh spinach, I love raw kale! As for beans, I crave them. And I eat many kinds; great northern, navy, cannellini, garbanzo, kidney, red, black, pinto, lentil… yum.

In fact, I’m noshing on a salad with beans right now… and I’d like to share it with you. Plus it allowed me to play with more of my new camera stuff by setting up the photo shoot. I am now a proud owner of a tripod and a shoe-mount flash. πŸ™‚

This salad consists of:
☀ mixed baby greens
☀ carrots
☀ tomatoes
☀ chickpeas (garbanzo beans)
☀ pistachios
☀ sunflower seeds
☀ hemp seeds
☀ roasted red pepper dressing 1


Delicious!

Oh and by the way…

Happy 1.11.11 ! πŸ™‚

Until next time…
~nic

1 contains honey

4 thoughts on “I’ve Come A Long Way, Baby…

  1. So…..you want to send me one of those salads my way? It looks gorgeous and mine never look that good!

    Do you all have Sweet Tomatoes there? It’s like Souper Salads prettier, more accomplished sister (I like to think of salad places as girls apparently!)

    I never had beans until after college and just transitioned to adding them on my salads a few years back. Raw kale rocks!

Leave a Reply

