Veganized Bites: Chocolate Macaroon Bundt Cake…


When I was a kid, for my birthday I would ask for a Chocolate Macaroon Bundt Cake… it was a bundt cake with chocolate on the outside and a tunnel of coconut in the middle, then drizzled with a powdered sugar glaze. I’m pretty sure it was a boxed cake… but was discontinued long ago.

I wanted to recreate that cake, only a vegan version… and from scratch…

My first attempt, which I have been calling my ‘amateur cake’, didn’t turn out quite like I had planned. I made a coconut custard-like filling for the middle, doubled the ingredients for Magic Chocolate Cake… and then baked.

I knew when I put the coconut filling into the pan on top of the chocolate batter that this wasn’t going to work quite right… the filling was heavier than the cake batter. And doubling the amount of cake batter turned out to be heavy too… I baked the cake for an hour, and finally the toothpick came out clean.

But then it struck me… Magic Chocolate Cake is mixed, baked, and served from the pan… was this cake even going to come out of the bundt pan?

Ummm… well, yes and no.

The portion of the cake from the coconut came out, but the ‘top’ of the cake stayed in the pan…

Laughter ensued as I felt like a total amateur with this cake. I carefully put the coconut portion back in the pan, flipped it and then used a plastic spatula to separate the cake from the pan and tried again. This time with some thumping on the pan, it came out.

Heh.

The cake was edible, but I knew I could do better. The filling tasted like overcooked custard to me, not burnt, just overcooked. And the cake itself didn’t seem chocolaty enough, plus it was a dense cake.

“I’ve had better”… popped into my head.

I researched and pondered for a few days a better way to make this cake from my childhood. Then I found this website, and I realized that maybe I’ve been going about this all wrong… I’ve been making it too difficult. In that recipe, the coconut filling is made with the cake batter itself. Some of the batter is divided out and coconut is added, where the rest of the cake batter gets the cocoa powder, ingenious!

Second attempt…

This time I decided to make only a 1 1/2 batch of Magic Chocolate Cake (rather than double), and I made sure that the bundt pan was lightly sprayed with oil.


Vegan Chocolate Macaroon Bundt Cake
a variation on Magic Chocolate Cake
You will need: Bundt Pan

Cake batter:

    ☀ 2 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
    ☀ 1 1/8 cups (or 1 cup + 2 Tbsp.) sugar, white granulated
    ☀ 3/4 tsp. salt
    ☀ 1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
    ☀ 1/2 cup vegetable oil
    ☀ 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
    ☀ 1 1/2 Tbsp. vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar)
    ☀ 1 1/2 cups water

Add ins:

    ☀ 4 1/2 Tbsp. cocoa powder
    ☀ 1/2 cup coconut, sweetened and shredded

Glaze:

    ☀ 3/4 cup powdered sugar
    ☀ 1 tsp. vanilla extract
    ☀ 1 Tbsp. water

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Combine the flour, sugar, salt, and baking soda in a large bowl. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients.
  3. Combine oil, vanilla extract, and vinegar in a measuring cup. Pour into the well of the dry ingredients, next add the water, mix well.
  4. In a separate bowl, divide out 1 cup of the cake batter. Add coconut, stir to combine.

  5. Add the cocoa powder to the large bowl of cake batter, mix well.

  6. Lightly spray the bundt pan with oil.
  7. Pour approximately 3/4 of the cocoa cake batter into the pan.
  8. Gently add the coconut cake batter, forming a ring of coconut.

  9. Then add the rest of the cocoa cake batter, gently covering the coconut cake batter.

  10. Bake for 35-40 minutes, until toothpick inserted in the cake comes out clean.

  11. Let rest 5 minutes before turning over onto a cooling rack.
  12. Let cool 10-20 minutes on cooling rack before transferring to serving plate.

  13. Once transferred to a serving plate, allow to cool an additional 20 minutes before drizzling with glaze.
  14. To make glaze: combine powdered sugar, vanilla extract, and water in a small bowl.

  15. Drizzle cake with glaze.

Much better. I’m glad that I made this cake again… even though it may seem like a lot of cake, it’s more about the learning process for me. I am constantly inspired by Angela, of Oh She Glows, to try, try again.

Failures are how you learn. I’m much more proud of the second attempt, although there is a voice in my head that thinks I might be able to do even better. Give me a few days eating this cake, and we’ll see if I come up with an idea to make it better. For now, this is definitely a nice veganized version of Chocolate Macaroon Bundt Cake. 🙂

Until next time…
~nic

2 thoughts on “Veganized Bites: Chocolate Macaroon Bundt Cake…

  1. Do you by any chance know what that boxed mix was called or if it is still around? My father has been describing this exact cake from his childhood… Thanks so much for any help you can give me!

Leave a Reply

