Happy (Almost) Birthday to Me!


Tucked away in the celebration of the year to come and the ruminations of the year that has passed, the lamenting that we have to schlep back to work or school and the realization that there isn’t another holiday for months, is my birthday.

When I was a kid, I was none too happy that my birthday was a week after Christmas, it was usually lumped in with the other celebrations and I tended to feel cheated somehow. I envied the kids who’s birthdays were in the summer, far from the other holidays, but I also realized that those kids had the same problem I did… while it was great that I didn’t have to go to school on my birthday, it also meant that most of my friends were on vacation and couldn’t come to my party. As the years passed and the need to have a party has gone away, I’ve realized that I actually enjoy my birthday being in the middle of all the hoopla.

I now like to think of my birthday as being celebrated by nearly the whole world, a time when we all reflect on our lives and dream about our goals. Party hats, smiles, noisemakers, and kisses bring in the new year. Followed by hangovers, goal settings, and more smiles.

And then there is the following day, the day we realize that we have to get back to our lives… but usually that is the one day where it’s not quite the end of the holiday and work is just one more day away… and on that day… I like to think that everyone celebrates once again that they don’t have to work and can relax… it’s that day, my birthday, that the world celebrates with me.

There are only a few days left until that day, and I realize that 39 isn’t as scary as I thought it would be. I reflect back on this past year that was a rollercoaster of ups and downs… it was a hard year (we’ve had harder and we’ve had easier). I look at my goals and accomplishments and I’ve realized that even though my goals weren’t met, I’ve come to a place where I didn’t know I’d be, both geographically and mentally, and I know that whatever life throws at me, I can handle it because with my husband by my side, we can handle anything.

Happy New Year everyone! And Happy Birthday to me! 🙂

Until next time…
~nic

5 thoughts on “Happy (Almost) Birthday to Me!

  1. Pingback: Back In My Day… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

