Veganized Bites: Boxed Brownies…


My days/weeks are starting to blend together, so I’m not sure exactly when this happened… it was very recently, but it may have been last weekend or the weekend before, not sure…

Anyway, Chuao was having a sale on their boxed brownies and giving away samples too. I love their bars, truffles, sorbet, and cafe mocha, so I was willing to try out their brownies too. I was pretty sure that the sample was not going to be vegan, because most boxed brownies have you add egg and butter… but I was hoping the the actual box of brownie mix would be vegan so that I could make them at home and veganize it. I was in luck, check out the ingredients of the winter brownies…

I was happy with the ingredients, so I decided I’d buy the winter and the spicy maya brownie mixes. The sample they were giving out that day was the winter, it was good and I knew I’d be able to veganize it.

A few days passed while I tried to decide when to make the brownies, I was deep in rearranging the kitchen and had a million things on my to do list. Then finally, a day opened up for me to be in a happy baking place, and so I baked…





All you need to add to the brownie mix is butter and eggs… I replaced the butter with earth balance buttery sticks and I replaced the eggs with flax eggs (3 Tbsp. water + 1 Tbsp. ground flaxseed = 1 egg).

I ground the flax seeds, and pulled out the contents of the box of brownie mix…

The baking tips contained within the box suggested adding 1/3 cup of water because it was soooo thick, and to melt the butter…

I blended the flax eggs in my magic bullet until it was a viscous consistency that resembled whisked eggs…

Now I was ready to make some brownies…

The batter was THICK… even after adding the 1/3 cup water…

They baked up great! Check out those chocolate chips…

These were AMAZING! Very decadent… I think the next time I make them I will add just a bit more water so that it will spread just a bit easier in the pan, I may have to increase the cooking time if I do that though.

Until next time…
~nic

4 thoughts on “Veganized Bites: Boxed Brownies…

  1. Pingback: Happy Holidays!… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: Oldie But A Goodie… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: 40… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  4. Pingback: A Few Of His Favorite Things: A Birthday Request… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

