Linguine with Garden Bolognese…


I actually have three, no four, different topics that I want to write posts about… I’m going to have to try to make a bit more time this week to make sure I get them all posted.

Even though I’m happily munching away on one topic for dessert, and had another topic as my beverage for tonight’s dinner, I’m going to discuss my dinner and leftovers for the past few nights… it was soooo good that I don’t want it to get lost in all the fuss over tonight’s delights. πŸ™‚

So without further ado, I present a wonderful pasta sauce that I found in Vegan Italiano by Donna Klein (p. 61)… Linguine with Garden Bolognese.

If I’m not mistaken, Bolognese sauce is a thick red sauce made with ground beef. When I was a kid, I wasn’t into meat sauce on my spaghetti, so it’s not something I’ve ever tried to replicate as a vegetarian. But when I read the ingredients for this version in Vegan Italiano, I knew we would like it… sun-dried tomatoes, mushrooms, zucchini… what’s not to like? I’m so glad I made this… OMG… it was good. The sun-dried tomatoes added a really nice flavor and texture to the sauce. My taste-tester loves sun-dried tomatoes so it was nice to find another way for him to enjoy them.

I made a few minor changes to the recipe; I used twice as many mushrooms1 and half the onion2. I used cooking wine, so I made sure to monitor how much salt I was adding. I also added about a ladle and a half of pasta water to the sauce as it was simmering, to add some moisture to compensate for the extra mushrooms. Oh, and I used spaghetti instead of linguine, because that’s what I had on hand.

I was lucky enough to find the actual recipe available online at google books for you to view. So go check out the original recipe. And then enjoy the story being told through pictures…

Awesome! This was a great way to zazz up a jar of tomato sauce with veggies, added texture, and that je ne sais quoi that wine brings to sauces. I highly recommend you try this pasta sauce.

Until next time…
~nic

1 I used more mushrooms, because I had an 8-ounce container.
2 I used less onions, because I had half an onion in the refrigerator and didn’t want to use 1 1/2 onions.

2 thoughts on “Linguine with Garden Bolognese…

  1. That looks and sounds like a great sauce. I am a meat sauce kind of girl but if I don’t have any meat on hand, will stock up with random veggies in my house since I like a chunky sauce. I hate thin runny, measly spaghetti sauce, it makes me sad.

Leave a Reply

