New-To-Me: Brussels Sprouts…


I wasn’t that kid who refused Brussels sprouts, because quite frankly, they were never offered. My aversion to vegetables as a kid were to the run of the mill kinds of veggies (especially canned peas, yuk), and any exotic veggies; like spinach, Brussels sprouts, or asparagus, weren’t even introduced.

But once I became a vegetarian (over a decade ago), I started to like veggies. And I started seeking out those exotic ones, too. Now, I know that Brussels sprouts are just little cabbages (thanks to Alton Brown of Good Eats) but somehow they never appeared on my plate, until now…

I was reading the blog Mama’s Weeds the other day and I came across this post, where she prepared Brussels sprouts in a way that she states, “…this is the only way I’ll eat Brussels sprouts now.” I was intrigued. I had to try Brussels sprouts and I was going to try them using her method.

So, I shredded the little cabbages (Brussels sprouts) and carrots… I also managed to shred my thumb too… ow… and I minced some garlic. I sauteed it all up in some coconut oil, then I added salt & pepper and voila…the start of a beautiful dinner…

I had a craving for a baked potato, I thought it might go well with the sauteed veggies, and then had an idea to put them on the baked potato (topped with soy garden, salt & pepper) along with some red beans… it turned out great! I also added some green beans on the side…

Great dinner! I loved how you could taste the coconut oil and it added an element of flavor to the whole dish. I highly suggest this method for making Brussels sprouts, just be careful with the grater. πŸ˜‰

Until next time…
~nic

6 thoughts on “New-To-Me: Brussels Sprouts…

  1. Isn’t that THE BEST!? This is still the only way I’m eating Brussels sprouts these days, never ever would have guessed I could be such a Brussles sprouts lover! Love the idea of using it as topping for a baked potato too!

  2. Wow, this actually makes me want to eat brussels! I tried them earlier this year for the first time and was not a fan. I don’t know if it was the consistency (which I never knew they were little cabbages) or the taste but I wasn’t diggin it. I like what you did though and that you topped a baked potato with it.

    Hope your thumb heals soon!

    • simplyshaka – I can see how getting Brussels sprouts in the wrong consistency could turn you away from the veggie, just like overcooked cabbage that stinks up the house would be a great deterrent. This method is more like stir-fry, so you don’t overcook the Brussels sprouts and the addition of coconut oil instead of say, olive oil, really adds a nice flavor combination.

      I found a youtube video of the episode of Good Eats (Head Games) where I learned that Brussels sprouts were technically cabbage (Cruciferea family)… as well as Kale, Cauliflower, and Broccoli! Check it out… this is just a snippet (part one of two, I believe)… pay special attention around 2:17-4:18. πŸ™‚

      Thanks on the good will towards my thumb… it’s been bandaged for a few days… luckily it doesn’t hurt (like when I accidentally cut my other thumb with the peeler 😐 ).

      • Thanks again for posting that! I just checked it out and I will admit now-I was an Alton Brown virgin. But he is really amusing so I will have to start watching his stuff!

        I am getting a mandolin for Christmas and foresee an injury soon. Needless to say, I stocked up on bandages the other day.

  3. Pingback: Dread Pirate Sprout’s Island Feast… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

