I Won Free Bagels…

A few days ago I commented on my blogger friend’s blog, simplyshaka, not really expecting to win but compelled to leave a comment about my favorite Christmas song. The next day, she announced that I was the winner!

Who me?

Prior to leaving my comment, or rather as I was leaving my comment, I looked up Einstein Bros. Bagel’s web page to see if the bagels were vegan. It has been awhile since I’ve been to an Einstein’s. Since becoming vegan I stopped going, because I couldn’t have the schmear and I wasn’t sure if the bagels were vegan either. Not to mention the shop was always far from my apartment and whenever I thought about getting some bagels, it was late in the day and I figured they were all out of the bagels I tended to get.

Anyway, obviously there are some bagels that will not be vegan, but I looked up the ingredients of the bagels I tend to get at Einstein’s (blueberry, cranberry, and dutch apple) and here’s what I learned…

Blueberry – Blueberry Bagel (enriched unbleached flour (wheat flour, malt barley flour, niacin, ferrous sulfate, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, blueberry bits (sugar, cranberries, blueberry juice from concentrate, grape juice concentrate, sunflower oil), high fructose corn
syrup, blueberries, yeast, wheat gluten, salt, molasses, natural flavor, malt barley flour, soy oil, hydrolyzed wheat gluten, ascorbic acid, enzyme, L-cysteine. Processed in a facility which also processes treenuts) Cornmeal. Contains: Soy, Wheat.

Cranberry – Cranberry Bagel (enriched unbleached flour (wheat flour, malt barley flour, niacin, ferrous sulfate, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, dried cranberries (cranberries, sugar, sunflower oil), high fructose corn syrup, cranberry bits (wheat flour, sugar, wheat fiber
concentrate, soybean oil, natural flavor, wheat starch, red 40, blue 2), wheat gluten, yeast, salt, molasses, malt barley flour, soy oil, ascorbic
acid, enzyme, L. Cysteine. Processed in a facility which also processes tree nuts), Cornmeal. Contains: Soy, Wheat.

Dutch Apple – Potato Bagel (enriched unbleached flour (wheat flour, malt barley flour, niacin, ferrous sulfate, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, high fructose corn syrup, soy oil, potato granules, yeast, salt, wheat gluten, molasses, diacetyl tartaric acid esters of mono-
diglycerides (DATEM), ascorbic acid, mono-diglycerides, enzyme, L. Cysteine. Processed in a facility which also processes tree nuts),
Roasted Fuji Apples (apples, brown sugar, sugar, modified corn starch, caramel color, spice, ascorbic acid), Streusel Topping (wheat
flour, sugar, vegetable shortening (palm oil, soybean oil), margarine (soybean oil, palm oil, water, salt, mono and diglycerides, soybean
lecithin, natural flavor, annatto color, vitamin A palmitate), vanilla, salt), Cinnamon Crunch Topping (raw washed sugar, refined granulated
sugar, cinnamon, canola oil). Contains: Soy, Wheat.

So in my analysis, they are vegan (dairy and egg free). Perhaps not ‘strict’ vegan, because I don’t know the source of the sugar, but I’m going to let it slide. No vegan police, please.

I waited eagerly for the mail each day, until one day (yesterday)… I received this in the mail…

She sent me a Christmas card with photos of her and her dog, Lincoln, along with the coupons. She is so cute! đŸ™‚

Today I went to Einstein’s with my coupons…

Here’s what I bought… 2 Cranberry, 2 Blueberry, and 3 Dutch Apple… I figured that the additional half dozen was definitely in order, since I don’t go to Einstein’s that often. I will head back, probably next week, to redeem the other coupon…

Even though I’d like to eat all those bagels in one sitting, I won’t. Instead, I’ll keep them fresh in my little bread container

I want to thank my blogger friend again for the cool coupons! Thanks!

Until next time…
~nic

3 thoughts on “I Won Free Bagels…

  1. Pingback: A Few Of His Favorite Things: A Birthday Request… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

