Chickpea-Quinoa Pilaf…

Chef cannot exist on pumpkin scones alone…

Last week, I was baking up a storm… well, maybe not up a storm… but quite a bit. After three days of experimenting, I had made 3 1/2 dozen scones. Although quite tasty, not very nutritious, at least, not by themselves… so not wanting to go in to a sugar and white flour coma, I made ‘real’ food too. 🙂

My pantry was nearly bare and I had few leftovers… but somehow, that’s when the magic happens. You look in your cupboard and creativity takes hold. Or in this case, you imagine a meal made with quinoa from the pantry and leftover squash. Not really sure what you’ll make, just thinking that it might be a good combination.

I flipped through some cookbooks, I perused some blogs… nothing really spoke to me… until…

I came across a quinoa and chickpea pilaf in Veganomicon. My mind reeled… this would go great with some squash (drizzled with maple syrup and topped with pecans)…

Somehow, my brain was taking a vacation while I made this… I was initially halving it and then forgetting that I was supposed to use half on some ingredients… I don’t really know what I did. I do know that I used ground coriander seeds, rather than crushing whole ones. And I used 1 can of beans… but I think I only used 1/2 the amount of quinoa… and a bit too much water. Whatever, it still turned out great. It was a bit soupy at first, but the leftovers had soaked up all the liquid. I liked it, and will make it again. 🙂 The combination of the spices in the pilaf and the squash went well together, this is another great dish for a vegan thanksgiving.

I served the chickpea-quinoa pilaf with roasted squash, drizzled with maple syrup, a dab of soy garden (margarine), and a handful of pecans; a side salad1; and some homemade bread…

And now I’m off to make a dish that I found while trying to keep up with the other vegan mofo bloggers…

Until next time…
~nic

1 The roasted red pepper dressing does contain honey.

One thought on “Chickpea-Quinoa Pilaf…

  1. Pingback: Sleep Battle… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

