Veganized Bites…

Awhile back, I was doing Friday Night Bites to showcase restaurants I was visiting in my area. I’m new to this city and was trying out a variety of places. But after awhile, I didn’t want to eat out anymore. I was ready to go back into the kitchen and play.

So Friday Night Bites morphed into making something new, and perhaps challenging, that I would normally not try because of cost or time. My taste-tester suggested I use the money I would have spent on dinner out and get creative.

Somehow, my eating out or getting creative has not been falling on Fridays, so I haven’t been posting them as Friday Night Bites.

For the last three days, I’ve been playing in the kitchen veganizing some scones. I started creating on Wednesday, and then began writing it up on Thursday. So Friday Night Bites didn’t seem to fit. With that in mind, I think I will morph the idea again. Removing the day of the week and renaming it Veganized Bites.

I gave you a bit of a teaser with Wordless Wednesday… now I will tell you the tale…

I’ve mentioned before that I used to bake for the holidays and mail out my baked goods as gifts. My cookbook of choice back then was Favorite Brand Name Gifts From The Christmas Kitchen, which is not vegan. Lately, I’ve been wanting to veganize some of those baked goods.

The one that I am interested in this week is Pumpkin-Ginger Scones (p.186) [original (non-vegan) recipe]…

At first I just swapped out the non-vegan items for vegan ones:
butter = soy garden (or margarine)
eggs = flax eggs1
sour cream = coconut milk yogurt2
vegan sugar

While the first iteration came out well, it was a bit spongy (thankfully not gooey), and I knew I could do better.

So I decided to find out what else I could use to substitute the egg, and get the texture I was looking for, which was more like a biscuit. I turned to Kris Holechek’s book, The 100 Best Vegan Baking Recipes… on pg. 17, there is a table of egg substitutions and what they work well in. I also flipped through the book to see what her scone recipe used, as well as checking her blog for any scone recipes.

I decided to try the non-dairy milk plus vinegar method. I also wanted a bit more flavor in my scone, so I swapped out the cinnamon for pumpkin pie spice and increased the amount by a bit. I accidentally added a bit more baking soda to v.2.0, but then realized it would be ok because I was introducing vinegar into the mix and it should even out the balance. I also added a more coarse sugar to the top, my preference (and what I had on hand) is sugar in the raw or turbinado sugar. The second iteration turned out much better, and much more flavorful. But still not quite there texturally, but much closer (this time it wasn’t spongy). What I wanted was more pumpkin flavor and a crisper outside.

I decided to remove the coconut milk yogurt all together3 and use more pumpkin. I also thought about rolling out the dough thinner and adding more flour. I am quite happy with version 3.0. 🙂


Pumpkin-Ginger Scones
veganized and adapted from Favorite Brand Name Gifts From The Christmas Kitchen (p.186)

Yields: 18 scones

1 tsp. apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup non-dairy milk
1/2 cup sugar, divided
(chef’s suggestion: remove 1 Tbsp. of sugar and substitute it for
1/2 Tbsp. turbinado, for the topping)
2 1/4 cups all purpose flour, divided
1 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 1/2 tsp. ground pumpkin pie spice
4 1/2 Tbsp. margarine, divided
(chef’s suggestion: 4 Tbsp. stick margarine + 1/2 Tbsp. tub margarine)
3/4 cup solid pack pumpkin
1/2 tsp. grated fresh ginger

  1. Preheat oven to 425°F
  2. Combine non-dairy milk and vinegar, stir; set aside.

  3. Reserve 1 Tbsp. sugar. (I put the granulated 1 Tbsp. back and used 1/2 Tbsp. turbinado sugar instead.)

  4. Reserve 1/4 cup flour.
  5. Combine remaining sugar, remaining flour, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda and salt in large bowl.
  6. Cut in 4 tablespoons margarine with pastry blender until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. (I found that it worked even better using my hands.)
  7. In a separate bowl, combine pumpkin and ginger; stir well.

  8. Add non-dairy milk mixture to the pumpkin mixture, stir to combine.
  9. Add pumpkin mixture to flour mixture; stir until mixture forms soft dough that leaves side of bowl.

  10. Turn dough out onto well-floured surface.
  11. Knead in 1/4 cup flour.4
  12. Roll dough using floured rolling pin into 11×9-inch rectangle, and about 1/2 inch thick.
  13. Cut dough into 9 squares.
  14. Cut each square diagonally in half, making 18 triangles.

  15. Place triangles, 2 inches apart, on parchment paper-lined baking sheet. (My triangles were closer together than 2 inches and worked out ok… they do spread and rise just a bit, so try to have them not touching when you put them in the oven. Also I found that it was easier to transfer the dough to the cookie sheet using a sturdy spatula.)

  16. Melt remaining 1/2 Tbsp. margarine.
  17. Brush tops of triangles with melted margarine and sprinkle with reserved sugar.

  18. Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until golden brown.

  19. Cool 10 minutes on wire racks.

I gave some of v.3.0 to my neighbor and she assured me that they tasted great, that they were full of flavor and a good texture. My taste-tester has told me that he is more than willing to eat my experiments. Overall, I think all three versions have tasted good. But I’m the most happy with version 3.0.

Even Little-bit wanted one!

Enjoy! 😀

Until next time…
~nic

1 flax egg = 1 Tbsp. ground flax + 3 Tbsp. water; blended well.
2 I took a chance that the consistency of the yogurt was similar to sour cream.
3 By removing the yogurt, I made the recipe one that would be more likely to be full of things I’d have on hand in my pantry.
4 I’ve never known just how much flour to use when kneading on a ‘well-floured surface’… so I decided to measure out some flour and see how it went. I used approximately 1/4 cup of flour to knead the dough into a less sticky dough. Which I then rolled out and shaped into triangles.

Leave a Reply

