Getting Back On That Horse…

Last time on the auspicious squirrel…

I had cut my left thumb pretty good while preparing dinner. The thought of picking up a knife kinda scared me, to tell the truth. Even though the instrument that hurt me was a peeler, any sharp object was now suspect.

But that soup still needed to be made. So after sleeping on it, I decided that the best action would be to 1. not peel that butternut squash raw, 2. use the knife as little as possible. I managed to implement number one easily, number two was a bit harder…

The problem, it seemed to me, was that the squash, being raw, was the culprit to my injury. So, I figured the best solution would be to roast that sucker, then the skin would come off much much easier, not to mention that there would be more flavor in the squash. So that’s what I did. I cut the remaining part of the squash in half, removed the seeds and put it in a 400°F oven for about 30 minutes. Normally I would roast a squash for 40+ minutes, but I didn’t want it to be too soft since I was going to add it to a soup and let it finish cooking with the other soup veggies. The skin came off easily, except the parts where I had already started peeling it. Oddly, those areas seemed dried out and I had to cut off some of the edible parts to remove the skin. (Isn’t it odd that skin, meat, and flesh are words used to describe a squash?)

I decided not to use the entire squash, since it was such a big one, and put the last portion back in the oven for another 20-30 minutes, checking on it every 10 min, until it was nice and soft.

Even though my cutting skills were a bit on the gimpy side, the soup turned out really good.

It always amazes me when I injure something how that injured part is vital to my ability to do anything. Apparently, I use my left thumb a lot… I know, opposable thumbs and all that… but it is my supportive hand, not my dominant hand. Try tying your shoes without using your left (or non-dominant) thumb… go on… I’ll wait. Hard, right? Cut a vegetable by trying to hold on to it without your thumb… a bit scary, right? Wash your hair, pull up your pants – then try to button them. Yeah, things are different right now. But the good news is, the cut isn’t as deep as it might have been, thank you, nail – you’ve saved my ass so many times. Have you noticed that? The few times a knife or other sharp object has slipped while preparing a meal, my nail has always been the thing that helped mitigate the injury. Our bodies are wonderful things… so ingeniously designed.

Anyway, I also made some bread to go with the soup.

I didn’t have day old bread around, actually I didn’t have any bread around, to make the sage bread crumbs. But I did have some bread dough in the fridge… so I decided to add the sage bread crumb flavors to that. Here’s how I did it…

I gingerly spread out the dough, so as to not lose the lift, and sprinkled garlic powder and sage powder on it. Then I rolled it up, tucked under the ends and let it rest for 40 minutes. Then I baked it in a 450°F oven for 25 minutes… the night I cut myself the bread seemed to barely miss being burned (but was still tasty)…

So the next night I baked it in a 425°F oven for 25 minutes… and it was ever so slightly under cooked. Maybe another 5 minutes? Even though bread is a science, it’s also an art… eventually I will know when it is done intuitively.

Great soup.

Until next time…
~nic

5 thoughts on “Getting Back On That Horse…

  1. The bread should feel hollow when you tap on the bottom, and make sure to let it cool before slicing (it keeps baking out of the oven)! It does get easier as you bake more bread, though.

  2. Pingback: Chickpea-Quinoa Pilaf… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: Moroccan Salad… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

