Vegan MoFo: Survey…

I was planning on writing about mushroom risotto, but I have so much to do today that I think I’m going to do a short post today. I borrowed the survey from a fellow squirrel vegan blogger. 🙂

What is one food you thought you’d miss when you went vegan, but don’t?
Cheese, I thought I’d be using the fake cheeses or something, but I haven’t liked any of them and have found that I actually prefer to just omit the cheese rather than try to replicate the flavor/texture falsely.

What is a food or dish you wouldn’t touch as a child, but enjoy now?
Beans, I used to say the word like it was a cuss word. Practically spiting to ward off the evil spirits after saying the word. Now I actually love beans and crave them (especially lentil beans)… so strange!

What vegan dish or food you feel like you “should” like, but don’t?
Seitan, when we first went vegetarian (over a decade ago) we tried some of the fake meats and were just not impressed. I had to learn to cook differently. But by having to learn new methods of feeding us, rather than just trying to replace the meat section of the plate, I actually started to love to cook. But seitan is still pronounced Satan in this house.

What beverage do you consume the most of on any given day?
Tea, I love my Teavana green teas.

What dish are you “famous” for making or bringing to gatherings?
I don’t go to many ‘gatherings’, but when family comes to visit, I make my zucchini calzone, which my taste-tester has rated wicked awesome. 🙂

Do you have any self-imposed food rules (like no food touching on the plate or no nuts in sweets)?
I don’t think I do… over the years, my creativity has brought together such interesting combinations that it now seems like sky’s the limit.

What’s one food or dish you tend to eat too much of when you have it in your home?
Hummus, when I get a tub of Sabra hummus we have to really try not to eat it all in one sitting!

What ingredient or food do you prefer to make yourself despite it being widely available prepackaged?
Hmmmm…. that’s a hard one. I like making my own bread dough (no-knead), but I also like already packaged breads, especially from wf deli. So I guess, a better response would be soup… I would rather make my own soup than purchase it prepackaged, even though I sometimes do.

What ingredient or food is worth spending the extra money to get “the good stuff”?
Organic produce, I am such a believer in prevention… I’d rather spend the money on organic rather than deal with the health consequences of eating toxins later.

Are you much of a snacker? What are your favorite snacks?
I can be. Oddly chocolate chips, plain or sometimes with peanuts and raisins. I also like chips and salsa. Potato chips too, salt and vinegar… mmmm.

What are your favorite vegan pizza toppings?
Pineapple is a biggie. But I also like to make a mix of olives (green & kalamata), roasted red peppers, banana peppers, and a new addition to the mix – bread and butter pickles. I’ve recently come to enjoy the combo of artichoke hearts and capers too – I plan to add that into my yummy bread one day.

What is your favorite vegetable? Fruit?
Broccoli, Watermelon

What is the best salad dressing?
Annie’s Goddess Dressing… it’s soooo good on raw kale.

What is your favorite thing to put on toasted bread?
Earth Balance – Soy Garden, sometimes jam too depending upon what I’m eating the toast with.

What kind of soup do you most often turn to on a chilly day or when you aren’t feeling your best?
When I’m not feeling my best, my go-to soup is my get better soup. But if I’m just making soup to warm us up, then I’ll make some variation of minestrone or a lentil soup.

What is your favorite cupcake flavor? Frosting flavor?
My knee-jerk response is chocolate-chocolate… but after making all those cupcakes for Halloween… lemon-butter cream (aka. lemon swamp thing) sounds really good to me right now.

What is your favorite kind of cookie?
Again, knee-jerk response is chocolate chip… but pfeffernüsse are really good.

What is your most-loved “weeknight meal”?
Spaghetti, it is easy to make and always hits the spot.

What is one dish or food you enjoy, but can’t get anyone else in your household to eat?
It used to be raisins, but my taste-tester is slowly warming up to them.

How long, in total, do you spend in the kitchen on an average day?
It depends on the day, some days like leftover night hardly any time, but on days when I’m in the mood to cook… it could be anywhere between 2-5 hours.

How many fingers am I holding up?
zero, hey! get your hands off my keyboard!

What kind of things are you doing for VeganMofo?
I have some ideas for veganizing a few desserts and my taste-tester suggested I bring back some of my favorite dishes that I’ve blogged about and make them v.2.0.

That was fun. What are your answers?

Until next time…
~nic

One thought on “Vegan MoFo: Survey…

  1. What a fun little survey! So many things to comment on—I used to hate beans also as a kid but love them now. I think mostly in part to that my mom never made them so when I became an adult and saw people eating them on free will, I had to try them out. I haven’t bought hummus in a looooong time since I tend to kill it in one sitting. I’ve heard Annie’s Goddess dressing is the bomb and have yet to try it. Seeing I love green stuff and dressings, I don’t know what the hold up is. I think the cheese would be my big concern about going vegan, I can’t just can’t imagine giving it up.

Leave a Reply

