The Counter – Custom-Built Burgers…

I’ve been meaning to write this up for weeks, but somehow it keeps getting pushed to the background. I was told about this restaurant by my friend when she found out that I was going to be in a particular shopping center one weekend. I went on a Saturday, so I decided it was too late for Friday Night Bites and thought I’d write about it the following Friday. I don’t remember why I didn’t write about it on that Friday, possibly because I thought I’d go back and have more flavor combinations to write about. Anyway, to make a long story short… rather than wait for yet another Friday to make this a Friday Night Bites, I’ll just write about it on a Monday and call it even. πŸ˜›

There is a really cool place called The Counter, and they make custom built burgers. And I really mean custom. And an added plus… their veggie burgers are vegan! πŸ™‚ They have a menu where you choose your burger-type (mine was veggie, obviously), the size of the burger, and whether or not you want it as a burger (w/bun) or a salad (no bun), choose a cheese (I omitted), then choose up to 4 toppings (although extra toppings are allowed for a small fee, something like 50¢ each), there are also ‘premium toppings’ for, I think, $1.00 each, next you choose a sauce and then a bun. I’m sure it would make more sense if you saw the menu…

If you are like me, you just don’t know where to start… they also have signature burgers for you to choose from, as well as sides, drinks, and desserts…

Now let me see if I can remember what I ordered…

I was intrigued by the Asian veggie and the southwestern… so I ordered the Asian veggie and then I custom-built a burger using the southwestern as a guide. I didn’t realize until I got my order that the Asian veggie was a ‘burger in a bowl’… but it turned out to be perfect… it was like an Asian inspired salad… we really like this one, the grilled pineapple, ginger-soy glaze and peanut sauce really made this dish. For my custom-built burger I ordered: 1/3 lb veggie burger on a multigrain bun; roasted corn & black bean salsa, roasted green chiles, roasted red peppers, scallions, tomatoes, organic mixed greens, guacamole; and chipotle aioli sauce. The burger was amazing! I also ordered the 50/50, which is fries and sweet potato fries. I have been wanting to go back ever since.

Check out the locations, there might be one near you… (hint hint MIL & FIL). They are also building quite a few new locations.

Ok, that’s enough of my free advertising… great burger… if you are in an area that has one, I highly recommend it! πŸ™‚

Until next time…
~nic

7 thoughts on “The Counter – Custom-Built Burgers…

  1. just a heads up, on their website none of the buns are listed as vegan, and the peanut sauce is listed as containing fish.

  2. I love the veggie burgers at The Counter. I once accidentally checked the 1 lb option when I intended to order a 1/3 lb burger… Whoops!

    That’s a bummer about the buns and peanut sauce.

    BTW, it’s nice to see another “squirrel” on here πŸ™‚

    • Eileen – OMG… a 1 lb burger would have been HUGE! Haha!

      That’s a great pic of the squirrel you have on your header! They never let me get that close to get a photo. Now that I’m in San Diego rather than the DC area, I haven’t seen any squirrels 😦 My neighbor tells me that there are some on a specific beach… I have yet to explore that area. Totally missing the squirrels.

      • I have a series of photos of that squirrel. I found him on the UCLA campus, clearly used to people feeding him. He was a totally trying to charm me for some food.

  3. Pingback: A Day In The Life… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

